• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Question about sanding.

aussiewannabee69

Local time
6:59 AM
Reaction score
This is my first attempt at body/filler/paint work so I don’t really know to much about it all.
I’m smoothing out the engine bay on a 69 coronet and have done the metal work, sprayed with epoxy then done the filler work. Once I got the filler down I blocked it with 40 and then 80. Then sprayed primer filler, blocked it with 120 then 240. Still have 400 to go and then was going to hit it with another filler primer.
My question is was I meant to sand the epoxy with a finer grit before I sprayed the filler?
Please let me know if I’m meant to add more steps in.
Also do I spray again with epoxy after the filler or is it sealer?

2052ED84-3C26-4D7F-B530-DEEED3858D6A.jpeg

D7909EA1-F40F-4A91-8E3E-EEDCCC3DD09B.jpeg

4836EA34-F8EB-4111-8714-EC47526762A1.jpeg

000C06F4-9A8D-44B0-BACE-DD0C61A693EF.jpeg

90243C82-96B2-4667-A81A-56139FAE431F.jpeg

The directions from the specific product you used can guide you a good bit. Best thing all that with can do is give you a great smooth surface for your B5. Paint is good at self leveling so a glass smooth surface isn’t strictly necessary. In fact you still need a decently scuffed surface for it to grab on it. Hitting it with 320 before paint is common. Also you can shoot sealer if needed but that usually is if your primer is old and you want new material for the paint to stick to. Again, reference your product instructions. You’ll usually reduce your primer with 5-50 percent urethane reducer.

I didn’t follow all of it. I would not sand anything with 40.

From epoxy:
- Do your filler work, 80 then finish in 120
- Primer surfacer - 220/320/400
- If you got everything sanded out go straight to sealer and color.