• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Restoring An Old Mopar With An Extremely Bad Back?

TorRed

Local time
1:36 AM
Reaction score
So I've been putting off restoring my 70 Roadrunner for many years and now in my mid-60's my back has gone from an occasional issue to now being a total mess. I've got several things going on in my back at the same time that are contributing to it becoming a full disability. The Neurologist I just saw basically said what I've done in the past is not what I can do going forward. No heavy lifting at all, not much bending, try to keep my back perfectly straight while sitting and standing, lose weight & strengthen my core. Best case I'll be able to avoid surgery but even with surgery still can't do anything heavy, lots of bending over or twisting, etc.

Are any of you still working on cars with similar issues? How are you handling the heavier parts of restoring a vehicle. I've got a price for a rotisserie restoration but that price has risen to over $100k and just isn't in the cards. Not sure how much less it will cost to farm out each section (motor, trans, rear end, body work & vinyl top & paint, interior work, etc.) separately. Trying to decide if it's time to hang up the wrenches and concentrate on complete running vehicles.

Thanks, Jim

Last edited: