• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Smart water shut off

Detective D

Local time
2:38 AM
Reaction score
Raise your hand if you think, in today's world, installing a device that can shut off your water main remotely is a good choice.

I saw a commercial for this with(of course) a very, very well to do woman walking on a beach with concern on her face in some far off land checking her phone and then grinning with the relief knowing her water was shut off automatically by an App. run by a third party.
I deffinately think a third party 24/7 monitoring my water use is a good idea.

1700700853748.png

As a licensed plumber, I think it is a good idea. I have installed several of those exact units. All have been in vacation homes where the owner is only there a few months a year.

Pretty easy to shut off the water if you’re not going to be there.

Just started a job 1 week ago. The owner lives in Washington. He Airbnbs it when they don’t use it. He had a possible client show up to rent it and the toilet seat bidet line broke. Luckily the guy shut the water off and called him. Don’t know how long it had been leaking but about $25,000 in damage from a 3/8” line. We did $30,000 worth of work when he bought it 3 years ago. Thank goodness it is on a slab and only a 1/3 of the house was damaged. I always tell people to shut the water and water heater off when they leave, some listen, some don’t. I think that is a great device and I’m going to tell him to put one on.

Yes a shut off the home owner can access is good.
No matter if it's a phone app or your brother.
We had a cold line to our washing machine bust at the end crimp several years ago. We were home so just some cussing and mopping.