• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Sub frame connectors

Mocajava

Local time
10:21 PM
Reaction score
Good morning gentlemen. I am a very junior member here just asking for feedback. Have read previously of US Cartool and their sub frame connectors and how well they worked. I ordered a set for my '69 Coronet and started the prep work for getting them in place. I have to say I was pretty dissapointed in what I got after the initial fit up. I spent almost 5 hours in grinding just to get them where they would fit enough to weld. In some places I had 3/8" of material to take out of them just to get less than 1/8" of standoff, seems they weren't even made for my car? There seemed to be bumps and high places that didn't belong at all on these pieces that had to be completely removed. I was a welder for over 20 years and did years of layout work for fabrication so the quality of what I got was less than satisfactory. My car is original, unwrecked and pretty pristine underneath so i have eliminated anomolies in the car from outside sources...factory differences might be the only variable.
I just wondered if anyone else had this type of experience or is that normal for US Cartool quality? I don't know whether to go back to them for confirmation that they sent the corrct parts or just let it go as another dissapointing aspect of buying retro-fit parts for these old cars. Thanks for any info or opinions you might have. Mocajava

Call them. Tell them. My welder said that the USCartool connectors went in easy with no mods if I recall. This was in 2008. Application was 69 B Body. Upside is that the results will be worth it.