• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Welding Helmet

Pipe welding is getting into a different area. Especially any high pressure piping. Im not sure but some pipe that is welded by robotic would be some type of wire feeder but that is the exception. Ive never seen any steam pipe mig welded and i was a cert welder in a major utility working in power generation for over 20 years. I believe they tried but the weld would not pass a bend or a X-ray test and thats the reason why. TIG is mostly but not always done on X-ray joints,we used it for the first "root" pass,after that the pipe was stick welded. The other thing is equipment. With MIG you understand whats involved equipment wise. With Stick or TIG in your plant ,one welding lead and if TIG a bottle of Argon. No fancy this or that. Most plants have a grid type welding setup so no separate ground cable is ever needed and thats another reason. You get into MIG you need a separate CV machine plus the wire feeder and all the cables. Its not proficient nor practical,at least not when i worked at the plant. Still more reasons are this. I have a CV gas drive machine and i run 035 solid core wire all the time. My next biggest wire would be a 040, that would max out my machine. I can run 5/32 7018 all day and get a larger deposit rate with more peneratraition. My point is look at some heavy equipment,notice the welds, it looks like one pass and a large one. It takes a very big CV power source for that. Its practical for new stuff under perfect conditions but has many limitations. Don't discount what those welders are telling you why they don't MIG steam piping. I also think its NOT approved for ASME code work. Sounds like a lot of talk but trust me you want nothing but the best when your on the upper elevations opening a hammer valve with