• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Would you buy a lemon?

Billccm

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
2:58 AM
Reaction score
I have been shopping for a newer car (2021 to 2022 Charger) primarily for my wife's daily driver. My search criteria has basically been a Charger R/T, or 392 with less than 20K miles.

Looked at quite a few 2021 Charger R/T with 9 to 20K miles all priced within 5% of each other at $39,900. Most of the CarFax come back as Personal Lease, with a few rental cars mixed in, but for the most part all are base model R/T cars. Interesting that every 392 I have looked at used was either salvage or rebuilt title, or repossessed with something wrong cosmetically or functionally.

I stumbled across a Lemon Law Buyback and just love the car bumper to bumper. It is a 2022 Charger R/T PLUS with a whopping 4,400 miles. I have driven it twice and my wife drove it once and it is basically the car we both want. For LESS than the price of a rental return 2021 Charger with 20K miles I can get this barely used car.

The CarFax is accident free and list it as a Lemon Law buy back. Interestingly the service visits are not listed. You would think the multiple car complaints and service visits to qualify for a Lemon Law car would be listed?

Fiat Chrysler disclosure documents were printed out and copies given to me. The car went back multiple times for oil leaks, stalling, and check engine lights over a four month period. In December, 2021 the dealer who purchased this car (Bill Luke Chrysler in Phoenix) replaced the entire long block, oil pan, timing cover, water pump, and all four TPMS sensors.

The dealer adds an additional 1 year unlimited mileage warranty to the original bumper to bumper warranty. I have this in writing.

Link to the car: