• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1968 Charger vs Charger RT

WikedCharger

Local time
3:08 AM
Reaction score
Good morning,

I'm new to the Charger forum. I've always wanted a 68' Charger and I'm on the hunt for one right now. My question, what is the difference between a regular Charger and a Charger RT? I know the RT has badges but assuming the engines might be different as well as the rear end? Is there any appearance differences other than the badges?

Also, I'm seeing prices in the $35k-$45k for a rough but running example. Is that right? I've bought many other old cars but this would be the most expensive project I've ever had.

Thanks so much in advance for any guidance.

The only engines available on the R/T were the 440 and Hemi. They were not available on regular chargers. The R/Ts also had HD suspension and brakes etc.

Thanks for the quick replies. So, visually, the only exterior difference between an RT and non RT is the badges. Under the hood is the engine and underneath is the heavy duty vs non heavy duty suspension. Interiors are the same then I assume?

Other than Facebook, Craigslist and some forums any other good place to search?

Thanks so much.

A real R/T will cost a lot more than a regular charger, all else being equal. It requires a lot more than looking at the badges to tell if it is real. You should do a lot of research on decoding mopars before you jump in if you want a real one. Once you get the general idea, then you can ask specific questions on here. A charger R/T would have a VIN starting with XS.