• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1970 Roadrunner won't stay running

Bobby D.

Local time
12:39 AM
Reaction score
Sorry for making a new thread but I'm trying to get my 1970 Roadrunner to stay running and I'm a little new to carburetor stuff. I've been here for awhile but haven't started really messing with my car. It has a 383, which will start and stay running, but I have to keep the throttle cracked open. The carburetor is an Edelbrock with a stupid adapter from the spread bore to square bore. The car possibly has a bigger cam and still has points and mechanical fuel pump.(that's the way I bought it) The second I let my hand off the throttle it dies.

Need a loooooooooooooooot more info. What is the minimum rpm it will idle at? New carb? Float level adjusted? Do idle mixture screws control idle quality. timing at idle? Etc.

Need a loooooooooooooooot more info. What is the minimum rpm it will idle at? New carb? Float level adjusted? Do idle mixture screws control idle quality. timing at idle? Etc.
Thank you for reply. It won't idle. It's not a new carb, it came with the car. I haven't touched the float levels or needle and springs. Idle mixture screws don't do anything, I cleaned the passages. If I keep it running and have the vacuum gauge hooked up, it's about 5 to 10 in. But I don't know what rpm its at. Spark plugs are black and it burns the eyes in the garage while running.

Check that carb adapter for sealing. Some of those create a huge vacuum leak.
Mike

Check that carb adapter for sealing. Some of those create a huge vacuum leak.
Mike
I think your right cause I just never liked the idea of the adapter. Is there a good spread bore carb I can buy that'll fit on, what I think is a factory intake? Just to eliminate that possibility.