• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

'62 Savoy Harsh Ride Quality

69plywgn

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
5:35 PM
Reaction score
I have a '62 Savoy Suburban that was converted from a slant six, three speed to a 440, four speed. The original K-frame and torsion bars were replaced. The stock front suspension was rebuilt with rubber bushings and it's had an alignment.

I've been driving it for a few years, but haven't been satisfied with the ride quality. Most "imperfections" in the road travel through the front suspension to the steering wheel. I've been experimenting with different front shocks, front tires, tire pressures, weight in the back, etc., all with no improvement.

I had a knowledgeable Mopar mechanic look at it recently and he said the left torsion bar was installed backwards (180* out). Looking from the rear, the left torsion bar is stamped "777", "UDL" and has no "straight slot" (index). The right torsion bar is stamped "471", "R" and has a "straight slot" (index). I mic'd the bars and they are .89" diameter (.90"?).

1) Is it possible to install a torsion bar backwards?
2) If so, is this the cause of my poor ride quality? In other words, are the torsion bars "fighting" each other?

Thanks in advance for your input.

1) Doesn’t matter front to back They can go either way. Left and right is important on stock bars.

2) no they are in the correct sides from what you tell us. They will not fight each other, they will break if on wrong side.

are you sure it’s rubber front suspension bushings?

what diameter wheels do you have? And tire size? 17” 18” Rubber band tires can do this.