• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Any MGB 1800 engine mechanics out there....

bandit67

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
7:55 PM
Reaction score
First cousin calls me, he bought a 1974 MGB with a locked up motor. Owner drove the car for years, parked it for years, and now motor won't spin using a big breaker bar. PO had pulled the plugs and filled cylinders with Marvel Mystery Oil, and still won t budge. Cuz pulled the valve cover and nothing busted/broke. The PO said there was nothing wrong when parked so we don't think a timing chain or rod/main bearing seized . No busted block from a rod hanging out. We don't think it is a tranny or clutch lockup problem either. I have zero knowledge of this engine , whats the quickest way to determine if it's a ring or valve train lock up. thanks...

Sounds like the easy stuff has been tried... I wouldn't do a whole lot more before pulling the head... Hate to do any serious damage trying to save the work of taking it apart.. It's an inline four... Not like it's hard to pull the head...

We don't think it is a tranny or clutch lockup problem either. I have zero knowledge of this engine , whats the quickest way to determine if it's a ring or valve train lock up. thanks...
I'm no MG mechanic either. Did you try the breaker bar trick with the tranny in gear or neutral? Makes a big difference!!! Are you super sure that the clutch is disengaging when the pedals pressed? If the clutch is fine, why not get a good push start and then dump the clutch to break it free? If the PO said that it was fine when parked is either lying or withholding information! I got nuthin else. Good Luck