• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Help with Edelbrock fine tuning....

bandit67

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
7:43 AM
Reaction score
Guys, I have very little experience with tuning the Edelbrock carbs and need some understanding. Im taking a used, highly modified 1406 back to stock calibration first and then will proceed to fine tune it for current engine use. Question is, the 1406 calls for metering rod spring to be orange. It currently has a 'plain' spring in which Edelbrock says it's an 8 hg. I believe hg is for a hydro gauge and that is how all the spring colors are listed. Not having a hydro gauge meter, is there a conversion as comparing vacuum gauge settings? I mean we use vacuum gauge setting in determining which power valve number needed with a Holley, can that be done with Eddys also...thanks...

Edelbrock lists a color/vacuum rating for their step up springs. Edelbrock lists .098 jets .075x.047metering rods with an orange spring for the primary side and .095 jets for the secondary side of 1406; per 2019 catalog. This is going to be pretty lean on the primary side. I use .101 jets, 71x47 rods, and orange springs with the 1406 I use.

HG is considered vacuum. All those springs for tuning have a HG after the number.
METERING RODS:
The metering rods are accessible through top of the carb by loosening and rotating their retainer plates. The metering rods use a
small vacuum piston to pull the rod down and a spring to push the rod up in relationship with motor vacuum. High vacuum pulls
the piston down, low vacuum allows the spring to push the piston up. The high/low vacuum relationship corresponds with motor
demands, no/low motor load conditions (cruise) will have high vacuum, high motor load conditions (power) will have low vacuum.