• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

High build primer, what's your preference today...

bandit67

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
7:10 AM
Reaction score
Guys, I've done about a half dozen cars now and since Im self taught I consider myself a novice at best. I've worked from advice from others and have made improvements in my efforts. I have used this Mar Hide K 2 primer for my last two projects and have learned to work with it. But, new formulas are always being introduced and was wondering those that have used this if there in something better. My process usually includes three applications of this stuff, block sanding between coats. Since Im usually sanded out, my final sanding is with 400. Since that is pretty rough, I've learned a sealer helps much before top coating. Just wondering if it's time to try something different. Thanks

IMG_0461.jpg

I've always used what I'm familiar with and comfortable with. If you've gotten good results with what you've had, no reason I see to change. I've used either Dupont of PPG products. new formulas = new $$$

I used SlickSand when I painted my Cobra body about 10 years ago. It was the hot thing then for the Cobra guys and some Corvette guys. Not sure if that’s still the case. It’s definitely high build - kind of like spray, polyester filler.

Thanks. I have moved to a new very small town and slowly been meeting car guys and meeting new folks. A local here who paints much more than me suggested I try this brand Kapci, said he really likes the stuff. Prolly the heaviest gallon I have ever picked up so I know some thick stuff for sure. Noticed it was made in Egypt , I can't remember ever buying anything made in Egypt, but I do know those folks know about preserving things for the long term. Anybody used it.

IMG_0462.jpg