• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

If you're depending on zinc to protect your flat tappet?

68-500

Local time
1:41 AM
Reaction score
This is what I’ve learned though my readings. Now Im not a scientist or anything fancy just a guy that reads.
If your depending on the zinc in your oil to protect your flat tappet cam, your looking at your oil backwards. Your first look should be looking at your oil’s ability to retain an oil film measured in psi. Then I would look for the anti-wear package (zddp) and less maybe more. Heres why, the more additive in the oil, the less oil in the oil, thinning it. I very much believe that if you buy the best oil, rated on oil film strength that is sufficient for your valve spring pressure there is little need for a bunch of zddp, just a little to coat your lifters and cam lobes. Its my understanding that zddp stays on the surface inert until oil film breaks down, then it sacrifices itself as a boundary temporarily. If your lobe and lifter have reached the the point where your metal to metal and its used up the sacrificial zddp coating now you’ve got wear and I speculate that under that condition the cam may still get oil on it but the lifter is now acting as a squeegee wiping that oil off before it can get back in between lifer and lobe.
I also believe that getting your 5 qts of good quality oil and that little bottle of zddp is a big mistake. I believe your thinning your good oil and asking for the oil film to breakdown.
Like I said I’ve no professional experience testing these theories. It’s just something Ive came to believe from my reading. And I believe all the snake oil (little bottle of zddp) may be only lightening your wallet at best or causing damage by thinning your oil film strength.
So after my rambling what do you think?