• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

How does the Hemi compare?

wrenchinrandy

Local time
3:56 AM
Reaction score
Good evening everyone. I’m new to the website. If this question has already been asked, I apologize. I did do a little bit of searching, and didn’t see my question directly discussed. That question is for those running the new Hemi. How does it compare to the vintage engines in terms of daily driver type use. I have a 2020 Challenger WBSC and love it. It is fast when I want it to be, idles politely, doesn’t get hot, and gets surprisingly good fuel economy. My ‘67 Charger has been a big block of various sizes all of its life. It has been converted to EFI, and has a Viper T56 behind it. While for the most part, I’m content with the big block, it’s has always been a leaky pig, and due to several issues, it never ran to it’s potential. So when the 451 developed a terminal problem, I find myself on the fence for a replacement big block, or changing to a new Hemi. I would like to know how well those that made the change, like it. I know there are pitfalls, unforeseen costs, and other headaches. Do the new engines work so well that none of that matters? Especially in comparison to a good running big or small block. Thanks!

Welcome to the site and it's a good idea to introduce yourself in the Welcome Wagon....and I'm guessing the new engines are working well because of all the electronics on them.....?