• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Lock up torque converter.

Cornpatch MO

Local time
10:29 AM
Reaction score
1968 Plymouth Satellite, 318 two barrel with 904 transmission. I am thinking about putting a lock up torque converter in it. Can iit be done without changing the transmission? Will it fit and work as it is supposed to? How would it be different than a stock one? Driveability? advantages or dis- advantages? Thanks for your input..........................MO

I'm a novice as far as transmissions go, but I had one built for my big block. What I do know is the input shaft and valve body are different (also different spline count on input shaft/torque converter), not sure what else.
The torque converter is only locked above 35 MPH in 3rd gear. That's all I got on the subject.

Hi Mo,
If you are after mileage I think you would be further ahead to adapt FI to your car. I don't think the cost would be much different to do than the lock up conversion but, the drivability would be far more satisfying.
Mike

Check with Hughes Transmissions. I believe they have a mechanical locking converter for the 904.
It was a few years ago I read a article on such a animal.

Hi Mo,
If you are after mileage I think you would be further ahead to adapt FI to your car. I don't think the cost would be much different to do than the lock up conversion but, the drivability would be far more satisfying.
Mike