• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Mopar 4-speed overdrive

whayden2003

Local time
2:30 AM
Reaction score
Ok. School me on what the heck this is. Says it was from a truck. 4-speed overdrive?
23 spline. Aluminum case. Long tail housing. Opinions. Junk??

I think pictures and/or numbers off the transmission would help. I'm not a transmission expert. I thought that aluminum case A-833's with overdrive were from Feather Dusters and Dart Lights, not trucks.

Yea. I botched getting pictures when I was there. I was a little quick on the tread posting gun I guess.

The OD trans came in aluminum and steel. The length is short for A body car use so installing one in a B or E would require some thought and measurements. There retainer is large. This requires modifying the retainer or bell.

Hey m not sure exactly on how it goes.

I have one so if you want some tape measure work done, let me know.

I had a steel one in a 76 Volare' wagon with bad sincro's. Bought a used one with an aluminum housing from an Aspen wagon for $50 and the rear tailshaft seal was shot. It worked fine though. They were used in 1/2 ton 2 wheel drive pickups also as I saw one in a bone yard. I think it had the long tail for that application. There was a plastic tunnel extension that screwed to the floor to give clearance for the shifter if I remember correctly. I also remember that the shifter knob thread was reverse threaded which pissed me off as I wanted to put a Hurst Tee handle on it. I ended up rethreading the shifter so I could install any conventional handle. Worked nice!

I don't see why not, just don't hammer it too much. The gear ratios are weird and not meant for performance on a stock unit. Having overdrive is nice though, really helps drop the rpm's at cruising speed!