• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

mopar cam shafts

dcred

Local time
10:36 AM
Reaction score
ok i'm a little confused on cam sizes iwas going to use mopar cam purple 284/284 484/484 @ 108 but i was told i would'nt have much vac for the car ---- i have power brakes and a EFI FAST fuel system auto trans 3.91 gears torque converter around 2600 - 2800 the moter is ( 440 bored .30 over compression about 9.8 ) stock heads with port matching done on the heads Manci racing tells me i need 284/284 484/484 @114 ????? is this cam streetable and have good vac and go to the track ones awhile . i called comp cams tech they tell me it wont work on my set up they suggested 230/236 488/491 @ 110 .....i want to go with the purple cam any thoughts would be great ..

So, I'm far from a cam expert but have learned enough over the last few months while researching my own engine build to throw in my 2 cents :)

With the FAST efi, which I also have, I was advised to stay with a cam with a duration in the low to mid 230's @ .050 duration. If you are going to run headers then the 110 and down LSA will be fine. If, however, you are going to run iron manifold you will want a cam with a large LSA 112 and up to help scavenge the cylinders. With that said, if you end up going headers the .488/.491 @ 110 cam would be my choice for an off the shelf cam. I had on in my 68 GTX and it made good vacuum for my power brakes. Otherwise I would be looking at a custom ground cam specifically tailored to your application.
Hope this helps.
Wes

undecided ?