• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Piston Ring Compressor

roadrunnerh

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
2:36 PM
Reaction score
Hello guys!
I'm going to be purchasing a ring compressor for my 383 piston installation. I was going to get one of the Chinese made ratcheting band style, then came across the ARP 4.250 tapered ring compressor. The band style is only $10 or so, the ARP is $55.
Which have YOU used? This is my first time building an engine, ARP route sounds less likely to break/damage a ring.

I have used the corrugated style with the overcenter lever. They work well for me, the inside of the corrugation compressing the rings, the outside keeping the compressor from going into the cylinders.
That being said... the single size tapered aluminum compressors really work slick. I made myself three, 4.030 ,4.155, and 4.350. I have NOT tried the adjustable tapered compressors. If i need something i dont have, i use my corregated one.

Hello guys!
I'm going to be purchasing a ring compressor for my 383 piston installation. I was going to get one of the Chinese made ratcheting band style, then came across the ARP 4.250 tapered ring compressor. The band style is only $10 or so, the ARP is $55.
Which have YOU used? This is my first time building an engine, ARP route sounds less likely to break/damage a ring.

Tapered are way easier to use. Really, the problem is the ratcheting strap type with smooth sides will want to try and slide into the block with the piston because of the chamfer at the top of the bore, and also, most people over tighten the compressor thinking it will help, but make the problem worse because it is now holding the piston tighter.
Anyhow, The ARP ones are nice. I haven't tried the Total Seal version. I hear they are good, and only cost $37.55