• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

REBUILT 727 HARSH SHIFT INTO REVERSE ONLY

Exactly, plow truck. Run forward and whip them into reverse. Many times still rolling.
Doug
Answer me this. Why did mopar have updates/tech bulletins in the 90s and possibly the 2000s to add more clearance to the front drum and add a wave snap ring to soften the reverse application?

Last edited:
Never do the reverse slam, Mopars had an issue, when you warrantyitems you find a fix, it happens more after the shift kit and a tighter converter. Putting a Mopar in reverse was known as experiencing a "direct connection" by trans shops around here. Anyway the transgo fix will help.

Ok. I will try a couple things. Thank you. Now....I am not a professional and I don't know half as much as most people on here. I'm just posting the instructions in case someone doesn't have access to them or is just curious. I also notice that the fsm and transgo say 2 1/2 turns out on the bands?

20240321_175633.jpg

20240321_175727.jpg

20240321_175638.jpg

20240321_175643.jpg

20240321_175648.jpg

20240321_175655.jpg

20240321_175707.jpg

20240321_175707.jpg

I have seen broken rear band anchors and a folded over strut that dropped out. This last case was in a pickup truck that ran so crappy, that the owner cranked up the curb idle to keep it running. Pulled it into gear, and Wham!

I have seen broken rear band anchors and a folded over strut that dropped out. This last case was in a pickup truck that ran so crappy, that the owner cranked up the curb idle to keep it running. Pulled it into gear, and Wham!
I've seen the band break, I've seen the front band strut bend... I've seen the rear band anchor come apart... I've never seen the rear band strut bend... It's so short there's not enough leverage to bend it.....