• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

What carb for 440

Napoleon1991

Local time
3:56 AM
Reaction score
I realize I’m going to get a ton of different answers with this one, but im looking for some suggestions on what type of carb to go with. Engine is a 440, 10:1 compression with a voodoo 703 cam. It has TTI headers, a performer intake, 727 transmission and 355 gears. It has a reman Quadrajet on it right now and im tired of messing with it trying to get it idling smoothly. I’m leaning towards Holly or quick fuel, definitely something with vacuum secondaries. Any help pointing out the pros or cons of different carbs or what CFM size I need would be appreciated.

Maybe 850 cfm ? I could be wrong though, just going on how you built your 440. I'm no expert, but, I play one at home :)

Maybe 850 cfm ? I could be wrong though, just going on how you built your 440. I'm no expert, but, I play one at home :)
Can't go wrong.
Maybe 750 if you're never going to mash the pedal much.
I've sold many quick fuels and everyone is happy. Just sayin.

Can't go wrong.
Maybe 750 if you're never going to mash the pedal much.
I've sold many quick fuels and everyone is happy. Just sayin.
I have a 383 that was rated right at 400 hp on the dyno, but with parasitic loss, maybe 375....ish. i'm running a 750 cfm Edelbrock, other carbs are good. I know Edelbrock does not get a lot of love, but they are easier to work on for me. I just don't have any experience with Holley.

I have to agree with the others, that it's what you're familiar with, first of all. So 750 or 800 cfm, and I'm familiar with Edelbrock, so your combo would be happy with the 800 AVS2. Easy to fine tine. My 2 cents ruffcut

Holley or Edelbrock

Blonde or Brunette

Whiskey or Brandy

Santa Claus or Easter Bunny

Holley or Edelbrock