• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

What RC car to get for 7 yr old.....

bandit67

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
6:34 PM
Reaction score
Guys, haven't bought a radio controlled car in ages but want to get one for my 7 year old grand boy. What size, I see 1/16,1/18 and 1/24 scales are most available , also see 2.4 MHz advertised a lot , is that what we want. I know these things do eat batteries but is there any that do better. Also, looks like they mostly make 4 wheel monster trucks over cars....not sure what a 7 yr old would like better. Any opinions....

I would get a 1/24 in a monster truck with BIG tires. They handle the outside terrain better, its fun to crawl over objects. Also I would look for one with a rechargeable battery:thumbsup:!!!

I'm no expert but....I bought my kid and myself each a sc10 team associated and they were bad *** but fragile. I then bought him a Traxxas 4x4 truck that was and is bullet proof. We have had these for 10 years + and the traxas would be ready rite now if I wanted, the other need work because I hit a curb.

If you can, go in person to a hobby shop in your area, if there is still one around. This is what they do, and should be able to set you up with
something that is good for your G son. Also hobby shops will usually have spare parts and such. Most stuff you buy on line is hard to get parts
for or have fixed. If you must do on line, Tower Hobbies is known as one of the best American hobby shops. GOOD LUCK!!!
PS go to Towers web site anyways. They can show you a lot of what RC cars are about.

South Mason-Dixon, ya can't go wrong with DIGGER!! NC shop, pretty cool place.

20140402_174502.jpg