• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

What requirements are there to titling and registering a "Salvaged" car?

Kern Dog

Life is full of turns. Build your car to handle.
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
11:08 PM
Reaction score
Hello,
I'm to the point where I am ready to transfer title and register this car:

IMG_8356 (2).JPG

It runs and drives, steers and stops just fine. It does have a Salvaged title though, meaning that it was totaled and parked for 24 years. The full story of the revival can be found here:

Lookie what $5000 buys you....

I have never brought a car back from the dead before so I'm new to the government side of it. I understand that I need some type of inspection process. The words I've heard are "Brake and Lamp" but what exactly does that entail? Do they drive the car to test the brakes then look at the headlights, turn signals and brake lights?

I have yet to find a shop to inspect it but I just started looking.
California may be different than other states but I appreciate any insight you might have.

They check the operations of lights, their level, turn signals, hazards and so on. They check the operation of the brakes and e-brake, look for worn out suspension parts and so on. Basically a “tech inspection” but instead of the drag strip or road course, it’s for the street.

Well, that is great then. Everything works except the horn and wipers.

You guys are lucky, Pennsylvania requires that to be checked every year. Even worse is they take your car apart every year to "measure" the wear pieces.

You guys are lucky, Pennsylvania requires that to be checked every year. Even worse is they take your car apart every year to "measure" the wear pieces.
Really? What do they take apart?