• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Wiring Help!!

Joel Talka

Local time
6:53 PM
Reaction score
Sorry, This will probably be a long one...

I've been working on my 66 Coronet for almost 2 years now, rebuilt or replaced just about everything. Included in all this were all the wiring harnesses; main, front end, under hood and rear lights, etc.. basically 100%. Everything went in and connected up without a problem. Installed a new 408 small block.

I have everything together and fired the car up, runs great. I have headlights, tail lights, turn signals, brake lights and horn. My dash lights also work, dim because there are bunch of LEDs in there.

What I don't have are gauges and warning lights, zippo. When I turn the key to "on" before I engage the starter, I expect to see the brake light, oil pressure light, gas level and some sort of activity on the ammeter... nothing! I also believe that the alternator is not charging.. The battery is brand new but when I put my charger on it, charge level was only 40%.

I checked this forum earlier today and there was a thread on a problem similar to this, which talked about making sure the dash circuit board is grounded. Today I pulled the dash and there is no ground terminal. I tried grounding the dash at various points to chassis ground with no luck. There is an extra "ground" lug on the starter switch, tried grounding that as well, same result.