69 RR with 505 and Holley Sniper

Resto-Mods & Pro-Touring forum

  1. andyf

    andyf Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    951
    Likes Received:
    1508
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Oregon
    Local Time:
    5:16 AM
    In the process of putting together a RR with a 700 hp 505 topped off with a Sniper. It is going to take some time to figure out the best way to wire the car since we want it to look nice and clean.
    DSC_4437 (Large).JPG DSC_4443 (Large).JPG
     
    • Like Like x 9
    • 493 Mike

      493 Mike FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      3,338
      Likes Received:
      3672
      Joined:
      Dec 25, 2011
      Location:
      White Cloud, MI
      Local Time:
      8:16 AM
      A couple of ideas:
      IMG_1600.JPG IMG_2294.JPG
      I silver soldered a couple straps to some copper tubing (steel tubing would be fine), drilled and tapped the intake to mount a sort of conduit to run the ignition, A/C, coolant sensor, and charging wires through. I also welded the bulk head connector hole shut and drilled a hole to run my FAST harness through. I'm also running front lighting under the right fender to conceal that harness.
      Mike
       
      • Like Like x 4
      • rmchrgr

        rmchrgr Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        334
        Likes Received:
        358
        Joined:
        Oct 11, 2016
        Location:
        Stamford, CT
        Local Time:
        8:16 AM
        I like the split loom stuff that comes with the Sniper. Several different diameters available from the usual vendors. You can zip tie it, harness tape it etc.
        IMG_0655.JPG

        Here's the wiring in the trunk coming from the fuel pump and sender.
        IMG_1193.JPG

        Made a bracket for the Hyperspark ignition box under the battery, you can kind of see it under the battery in the below pic. The box is on the inside, the connector is facing the front. There was not enough room with the power steering hoses occupying the same space. Initially I thought about running it inside but after a lot of back and forth, this seemed like the best place for it. The main ECU B+ wire and ignition box wire are fused right at the battery with inline blade fuse holders. This is a NAPA (labels removed) battery with top and side terminals. Having both top and side terminals turned out to be a good choice, keeps the Sniper connections separated from the main battery cable.
        IMG_1188.jpg

        This was an early iteration of the wiring, does not look like this anymore but may give you some ideas.
        IMG_0336.JPG

        This is how it ended up. I hate to say it but after so much trial and error, I pretty much gave up on trying to make it look real sanitary. If/when I take the engine out the car, I will re-do it. It's not bad I guess.
        IMG_1190.JPG

        In this pic, you can see the B+ junction stud to the lower right of the bulkhead. I run the alternator sense wire to that with a jumper from the starter relay. I'm sure there are better ways of accomplishing this. The coil under the clutch master cylinder reservoir is for a mechanical oil pressure gauge in the dash, it will be gone when I get new gauges.
        IMG_1191.JPG

        Hate to say it but unless you have a small block Camaro, the harness Holley provides really leaves a lot to be desired. When I rewired my car, I removed all unnecessary wires and at the same time incorporated the Sniper wiring into the new harness so it didn't stick out. That was a big project for which there was no instructions or guidance.

        When incorporating the Sniper into the new harness, I used some empty cavities in the bulkhead connector for the switched 12V wires and the Hyperspark ignition trigger. Inside, these were wrapped into the dash harness and run directly to wherever they needed to terminate.
        IMG_0624.JPG

        Basically I wound up re-pinning every single wire in their supplied harness. For example, the fuel pump relay is now under the dash, no way to do that if you just install it the way it comes. On the 10 pin connector I only wound up using two out of the ten wires so I have this giant bulky, connector hanging there with two little wires running out of it, I hate that. My coil is on the passenger side inner fender; with the ignition box under the battery, the supplied coil wires were too short, had to get longer wire and re-pin them to reach across the radiator support. And on and on.

        When re-doing all the Sniper stuff I became real familiar with Metri Pack connectors. They were easy to work with. I ordered a bunch of things from EFI Connection, they carry a lot of Holley-specific parts including most of the terminals that are in the Sniper harness.They also have TXL wire which is really nice.

        https://www.eficonnection.com/

        Not sure if that's what you were looking for but there it is. If I was starting from scratch it would be much neater. I found it really hard to do it the way I envisioned it - there were too many compromises and instances where I had completely scrap an idea and go back to square one. There's only so much you can do with the engine and the dash installed. I will admit the wiring became tedious and I needed it to be done no matter what it looked like.
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • andyf

          andyf Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          951
          Likes Received:
          1508
          Joined:
          Jul 21, 2012
          Location:
          Oregon
          Local Time:
          5:16 AM
          Yeah the Sniper harness isn't going to work. I've already taken it all apart and started to figure out how I'm going to connect things. The car won't have a heater so the ignition box will go on the inside firewall. The coil is mounted on the cylinder head. I'll connect IGN 1 and IGN 2 together and have them plug into the pink wires.

          The car also has dual electric fans so those need to wired and it has a one wire alternator so that has to be hooked up. Looks like we'll keep the factory temp sensor as well as the factory idiot light for oil pressure. Car will get an accusump so that needs to be wired in also. And there is a line lock that needs to connected. The factory engine harness isn't going to work so I'll take it apart and salvage what I can.
           
          • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
          • andyf

            andyf Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            951
            Likes Received:
            1508
            Joined:
            Jul 21, 2012
            Location:
            Oregon
            Local Time:
            5:16 AM
            Got the car all wired and plumbed.
            DSC_4559 (Large).JPG DSC_4549 (Large).JPG DSC_4560 (Large).JPG
             
            • Like Like x 7
            • andyf

              andyf Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              951
              Likes Received:
              1508
              Joined:
              Jul 21, 2012
              Location:
              Oregon
              Local Time:
              5:16 AM
              Sounds nasty with open headers.
               
              • Like Like x 6
              • Agree Agree x 1
              • biomedtechguy

                biomedtechguy Accelerati Rapidus Maximus FBBO Gold Member

                Messages:
                25,001
                Likes Received:
                36162
                Joined:
                Mar 28, 2014
                Location:
                South Louisiana
                Local Time:
                7:16 AM
                That's an amazing car and a job well done. I won't write a book here like on that other forum.
                Suffice it to say I'm not alone in wanting to have that kind of power in a street/strip car with a manual transmission, and it's nice to see one that's so gorgeous too!
                 
              • Budnicks

                Budnicks You Can Just Thank Me Later FBBO Gold Member

                Messages:
                54,768
                Likes Received:
                61042
                Joined:
                Jan 16, 2011
                Location:
                NorCal Sierras
                Local Time:
                5:16 AM
              • 68Dart470

                68Dart470 Well-Known Member

                Messages:
                51
                Likes Received:
                49
                Joined:
                Mar 30, 2021
                Location:
                Belchertown, MA
                Local Time:
                8:16 AM
                I could probably take 3-4ft of wire, if not more, off my O2 sensor cable. Not sure why so damn long considering they want it mounted at the bottom of the header. My concern is whether it would change the resistance at all.
                 
              • Bladeruner69

                Bladeruner69 Active Member

                Messages:
                27
                Likes Received:
                14
                Joined:
                Nov 11, 2019
                Location:
                SF Bay Area
                Local Time:
                5:16 AM
                Andy,
                Do you mind posting your cam specs? That is pretty radical lope in a 505.
                 
                • Like Like x 1
                • Plybeep68

                  Plybeep68 Well-Known Member

                  Messages:
                  108
                  Likes Received:
                  76
                  Joined:
                  Jun 28, 2019
                  Location:
                  Tennessee
                  Local Time:
                  8:16 AM
                  Very nice ! Where or who did the gauges?
                   
                  • Agree Agree x 1
                  • biomedtechguy

                    biomedtechguy Accelerati Rapidus Maximus FBBO Gold Member

                    Messages:
                    25,001
                    Likes Received:
                    36162
                    Joined:
                    Mar 28, 2014
                    Location:
                    South Louisiana
                    Local Time:
                    7:16 AM
                    Dakota Digital, maybe RTX series?
                     
                  • 493 Mike

                    493 Mike FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                    Messages:
                    3,338
                    Likes Received:
                    3672
                    Joined:
                    Dec 25, 2011
                    Location:
                    White Cloud, MI
                    Local Time:
                    8:16 AM
                    Was this a typo? O2 sensors are to be mounted above horizontal centerline to stop moisture accumulation.
                    Mike
                     
                    • Agree Agree x 1
                    • 68Dart470

                      68Dart470 Well-Known Member

                      Messages:
                      51
                      Likes Received:
                      49
                      Joined:
                      Mar 30, 2021
                      Location:
                      Belchertown, MA
                      Local Time:
                      8:16 AM
                      Mis-spoke I guess. It's only at the header collector, not a mile down the pipe so no idea why the cable is so long. Guess maybe if you have a tunnel ram on top of a blower it'd be a little tight....
                       
                    • andyf

                      andyf Well-Known Member

                      Messages:
                      951
                      Likes Received:
                      1508
                      Joined:
                      Jul 21, 2012
                      Location:
                      Oregon
                      Local Time:
                      5:16 AM
                      Comp Cams street roller, 260/266.
                       
                      • Thanks! Thanks! x 2
                      • andyf

                        andyf Well-Known Member

                        Messages:
                        951
                        Likes Received:
                        1508
                        Joined:
                        Jul 21, 2012
                        Location:
                        Oregon
                        Local Time:
                        5:16 AM
                        Correct, it is a Dakota Digital VHX dash insert. Nice piece that solves a bunch of issues with these cars since they didn't come with a good gauge package. It still isn't the greatest gauge package ever but at least you get all the info in the available space. The Dakota Digital also interfaces with the Holley Sniper so you can bring across information from the Sniper and display it on the dash.
                        https://www.dakotadigital.com/index...id=1164/category_id=679/mode=prod/prd1164.htm
                         
                        • Like Like x 1
                        • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
                        • biomedtechguy

                          biomedtechguy Accelerati Rapidus Maximus FBBO Gold Member

                          Messages:
                          25,001
                          Likes Received:
                          36162
                          Joined:
                          Mar 28, 2014
                          Location:
                          South Louisiana
                          Local Time:
                          7:16 AM
                          YES! That looks like a good sized "data display" in the DD guage setup.
                          I bought 2 BIM-13-2 modules for my RTX DD guages, to display the left and right channels of my O2 sensor system. I was going to use that to eliminate the guage they supply with the O2 system, but it looks like I have to have the guage connected to pull data for that channel. The data for the other side of the exhaust comes off an inline module in the Innovate Motorsports system. Still, even with the rather nice looking guage on my dash, I can use the 2 modules that run that AFR data through the DD guages in order to accomplish the MAIN goal I had for doing all that, and that's to use my smartphone or tablet to display selected data from the DD system as a "remote dashboard". I think the AFR data will be a good tool to have when I'm under the hood tuning the 6bbl!
                           
                        1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                          By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.