• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

727 question

3sloppydogs

Local time
2:37 AM
Reaction score
so I finally got around to pulling the trans out of the charger after the no 1st/no reverse issue. I pulled it because I wasn't happy with the converter and the seal leaked slightly. I'm no expert on these at all but working on heavy machines for most of my life I have plenty of hydraulic experience.
So the question is the accumulater has no spring and it seems to me it should. I have an old FSM for trucks that says no spring for that in a 440 application. Is that a truck thing or all 440 stock applications?
I believe there should be a spring there.

Some have springs. Some don't. Really not a big deal. The spring slows down the accumulator piston softening engagement. I think you'll find a rear band or rear servo issue is your cause of failure.
Doug

so I finally got around to pulling the trans out of the charger after the no 1st/no reverse issue. I pulled it because I wasn't happy with the converter and the seal leaked slightly. I'm no expert on these at all but working on heavy machines for most of my life I have plenty of hydraulic experience.
So the question is the accumulater has no spring and it seems to me it should. I have an old FSM for trucks that says no spring for that in a 440 application. Is that a truck thing or all 440 stock applications?
I believe there should be a spring there.
Accumulator Spring makes it shift softer, no spring shifts harder, put a solid spacer instead of a spring shifts really hard. air check the rear servo, just remove the valvebody and hit the hole with about 50 psi air. Watch the servo work and listen for leaks.