• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

About to attempt a transmission filter change on my BB 727

THE STIG

Local time
3:25 AM
Reaction score
I've never done this before so does anyone have any insight they would like to share? I've been told not to completly change the tranny fluid because it'll ruin my tranny but i don't really trust my source on that one. Any opionions would be greatly appreciated.

Who in the Hell told you that.Change the fluid and filters on my cars quite often.

Like I said I don't have alot of trust in that source. But in his defence he was talking about my 99 F150 not my Charger. Still sounds incredibly stupid though.

Remove the bolts beginning at the front all the way around to the rear. Have a catch pan ready for the fluid. When you get to the last two or three bolts on the rear edge, the pan will be leakin good by then. Ease the last bolt out slowly and drop the pan down front first into the catch pan. You'll see the filter and the retaining screws. Kinda self explanatory at that point.

I believe what your friend was referring to is that on high mileage cars where the transmission fluid has not been changed, sometimes changing it will result in a failed transmission. The reason is "I" believe because over time, clutch material wears off the clutches, but still remains in the circulating fluid. Once drained, thast clutch material is now gone. Even though the material is not on the clutches anymore, it still circulates through the transmission and still helps the transmission to pull. When it's drained out is when you can see problems.