• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Anyone Build A Shed Before?

66ChargerHI-PO

Local time
1:13 AM
Reaction score
I'm asking because this is my first time doing this. I'm building an 8x15 plastic shed to store my old garden tractors and whatever else in, and for the flooring my stepdad says to get pressure treated plywood because the floor is gonna extend out from where my shed is gonna be, if that makes sense and rot out. BUT my mom's friend says to get 1/2 inch OSB Board. I got the OSB Board, was that a mistake?

Thanks everybody in advance

You better paint the OSB or cover it with aluminum siding or custom bent aluminum to go around the edges in far enough for the shed to sit on it and seal it good.
Bottom line you should have listened to you dad !

Large mistake! Go with 3/4 inch treated. You won't be sorry. That 1/2 inch OSB won't hold the weight and will rot fast. JMO ruffcut

OSB is NOT rated for wet or weather exposure. It will start coming apart very quickly after a couple of rains. And the Building Codes specify that ANY wood left exposed outdoors shall be treated.

Place an ad on Craigslist and sell it for more than you paid.:D

Presumably you're building a full frame with pressure treated 2/6's or 2x8's under the plywood, right ?!?!?

It will be sitting on a pressure treated foundation. Mom's friend used to be a carpenter for 50 years, he recommended that if we use this OSB to put plastic or a tarp over it if it's gonna be sticking out like I mentioned in my first post

Oh boy, sob :BangHead: . Now what would I treat it with IF i keep it?
You really can’t as it is meant to be a wall sheathing or roof decking to be covered in something waterproof like house wrap with siding or roof underlayment with shingles.