Dakota Digital RTX instrument cluster - installed!

Onecarnut

Active Member
Local time
6:52 PM
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
27
Reaction score
49
Location
Spring, TX
Hey everyone, I just wanted to share my recent installation of the new Dakota Digital RTX cluster in my 1968 Plymouth Satellite. First off, I am not a mechanic, so it took me a few days to get it all done, but I took my time and cleaned up stuff along the way and got it finished to my standards. If I had to do it all over again with the knowledge I have now, I would say I could probably knock it out in about 4 hours.

Step one: Remove everything from the box and identify all of the parts.
IMG_3355.jpg


Step two: Remove the existing oil pressure sensor located on the top rear of the engine (440). This was a GIANT PITA since it is nearly impossible to reach, let alone get a wrench back there. After about 2 hours and several cuss words, I finally got the old one out.

Step Three: (what I did) Attach the new oil pressure sensor to a 4" brass rod so you can easily get to it in the future. Screw-in and push wire through the firewall.
IMG_3377.jpg


Step four: Remove the existing water temp sensor and install the new one. Word of advice: use Teflon tape, or you could have a leak as I did. Run wire neatly back through the firewall.
IMG_3362.jpg


Step five: jack the car up, remove the speedometer cable, replace it with the new sensor, and run wire through the firewall. My cable runs close to the headers, so I wrapped it with fiberglass heat shielding.
IMG_3416.jpg


Step six: Remove the lower dash pad and switch panel. If you've never done this before, prepare yourself for a challenge. There are six dash pad screws; some are very difficult to reach. Be careful removing the switch connectors - you don't want to rip any old wires out of the connectors and take pictures, so you know how they go back.

Step seven: Unscrew the cluster to pull it out and CAREFULLY unplug the main harness, then unscrew the power and negative cables. 3 of the harness pins broke off the circuit board as I removed mine (oops).
IMG_3396.jpg


Step eight: End-cap the pos and neg dash cable and begin inspecting and identifying the wires you will need to tap into. I used T-connectors, which seemed to work pretty well for me but do whatever you prefer.
IMG_3422.jpg

IMG_3437.jpg


Step nine: Take your time to neatly loom and run your wires to where you will mount the brain box. I chose to use heavy-duty Velcro and stick to the underside of the radio.

Step ten: Connect all your wires and sensors to the brain box and securely mount to your desired location.
IMG_3438.jpg


Step eleven: Mount the new cluster, switch and alarm buzzer and test everything out before putting the dash back together.

Step twelve: Drive the car for one mile to calibrate the speedo.

I'm sure I missed a step or two, but hopefully, this is enough information to give you the confidence to take it on. Like I mentioned at the begging of the post, I am not a mechanic, so anyone with some ability can do it. I can't express enough how happy I am that I did this. The technology and ease of installation are truly remarkable, and it looks incredible too. People balk at the $1500 price tag, but it was worth every penny if you ask me it.

IMG_3524.jpg
 

451Mopar

Well-Known Member
Local time
5:52 PM
Joined
Oct 25, 2011
Messages
3,218
Reaction score
2,538
Location
Aurora, CO
Cool, First one I have ever seen. Does that have GPS Speedometer?
 

Billccm

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:52 PM
Joined
Aug 3, 2016
Messages
2,938
Reaction score
2,643
Location
Tucson
Thank you. Great job and great procedure to follow.
My question is cost. I see $1500 and assume that's the total.
Thanks.
 
Last edited:

fratzog lover

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
6:52 PM
Joined
Apr 10, 2014
Messages
4,930
Reaction score
7,406
Location
Northeast Alabama
I am not a fan of people building their own instrument panels. Turned me off as a buyer even if the rest of the car was perfect. But these Dakota Digital people, they found the recipe. Follow what the factory did, keep the same layout, but improve everything that needs improving. Freakin awesome. I bet it is 100% superior to the factory unit after dark.
What was the total cost?
 

CoronetDarter

Well-Known Member
Local time
4:52 PM
Joined
Oct 13, 2013
Messages
1,794
Reaction score
2,220
Location
Lincoln, CA
That's really nice. Dakota Digital is the way to go.
Does your package have an ammeter or voltmeter?
 

Onecarnut

Active Member
Local time
6:52 PM
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
27
Reaction score
49
Location
Spring, TX
I am not a fan of people building their own instrument panels. Turned me off as a buyer even if the rest of the car was perfect. But these Dakota Digital people, they found the recipe. Follow what the factory did, keep the same layout, but improve everything that needs improving. Freakin awesome. I bet it is 100% superior to the factory unit after dark.
What was the total cost?
The unit cost $1500 and then all I had to do is buy some colored wiring and that 4" brass tube. It comes with everything you need!
 

Onecarnut

Active Member
Local time
6:52 PM
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
27
Reaction score
49
Location
Spring, TX
I am not a fan of people building their own instrument panels. Turned me off as a buyer even if the rest of the car was perfect. But these Dakota Digital people, they found the recipe. Follow what the factory did, keep the same layout, but improve everything that needs improving. Freakin awesome. I bet it is 100% superior to the factory unit after dark.
What was the total cost?
I spent about $30 in misc parts, so pretty close to $1500 all-in.
 

Kern Dog

Life is full of turns. Build your car to handle.
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:52 PM
Joined
Apr 13, 2012
Messages
27,144
Reaction score
81,775
Location
Granite Bay CA
That does look nice.
Kudos to DD for making the instruments look OEM while updating them to contemporary standards. I have a DD setup in my Charger. Mine went in in 2015-16. Since then, they changed to a design that looked just like the original Rallye cluster.
Son of a bitch....
I am SO tempted to get them, swap the ones I have into “Jigsaw” and keep the OEM looking ones for Ginger

198FD998-3B54-4CD3-9798-FED5BB9AAF14.jpeg
 

Onecarnut

Active Member
Local time
6:52 PM
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
27
Reaction score
49
Location
Spring, TX
That does look nice.
Kudos to DD for making the instruments look OEM while updating them to contemporary standards. I have a DD setup in my Charger. Mine went in in 2015-16. Since then, they changed to a design that looked just like the original Rallye cluster.
Son of a bitch....
I am SO tempted to get them, swap the ones I have into “Jigsaw” and keep the OEM looking ones for Ginger

View attachment 1124517
Dude, I would be upset too! They should have a trade-up program and offer huge discounts
 

Onecarnut

Active Member
Local time
6:52 PM
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
27
Reaction score
49
Location
Spring, TX
Cool, First one I have ever seen. Does that have GPS Speedometer?
The sensor they provide screws right into the trans where the old speedo cable goes. It's a pulse generator, but you can opt for the GPS module if you prefer.
 

Top