• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Grounding alternator

pjm8047

Local time
4:03 AM
Reaction score
i have a powermaster alternator on my 71 rr that I added 8 gauge power wire to it and with loads on im getting 12.8v is that normal? Im getting 14.8v no loads on. There is a ground stud on the back of the alternator will grounding it to the negative battery post help the voltage?

What rpm 12.8 V? Maybe a little low, I'd hope for more like 13.2 V at 2000 rpm. The 14.8 V is pretty normal for no load @ about 1000 rpm.

Per vehicle spec 71 Service manual i sent my idle rpm at 800 rpms in neutral . Voltage does go up as I increase rpms.

An early style alternator has a single field and the GND terminal should be connected to ground. My 64 has is connected to the case internally.
from a 64
upload_2017-10-7_10-39-6.png

I would have thought your 71 would have a two field alternator which connects as follows:
chrysler_external_voltage_regulator_wiring.jpg

Just be sure which one you have.

You can ground that post to the alternator housing itself. I just added a small wire and bolted it down to the back of the case. This means that your ground goes through the engine block so make sure you have atleast 1-3 grounds from the block to chassis.

I'm assuming this is a 1 wire setup. Also 8 gauge is pretty small, definitely do a voltage drop test to see if it's the wire size that's loosing your voltage.

Can i take one side ofa set jumper cables and ran one from the battery positve to the alternator positive to see if that makes a difference?