• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Operation: Chocolate Thunder

Local time
2:15 AM
Reaction score
20231113_175806.jpg

Hello all. I'm a 30yr auto body tech and constantly building project cars. This is my latest endeavor. 1971 B body, 440, 727, 8.75. PO asking $11k, i traded my '68 Merc Cougar for it. My intentions for this build are Roadrunner clone, Sassy Grass, factory stripe kit, factory interior with staggered Weld wheels and BFG tires.

After what I thought was a good visual inspection I drove this beast 5 miles from shop to home. Longest 5 miles in my life! A white knuckle, pants pooping experience to say the least...

I had front tires fighting each other to the point of constant squealing, jerking from left to right and braking resulted in teeth shaking tremors the likes of which only known by earthquake survivors.

So, without delay I will begin ordering a front suspension overhaul kit and a budget front power disc brake kit. Any advise/recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Budget is key here. Im hoping to pull off entire build for around $10k doing all work myself (less front end alignment)

20231113_175836.jpg

20231110_153532.jpg

20231110_153325.jpg

Welcome aboard! Looks to be in solid condition. Most likely your front end needs a little attention as you noted. Other than that, very nice overall. Good luck with your plans and future RR from another clone guy!
:thumbsup:

Hi justaday, welcome.

for converting to disc brakes the cheapest way is to find used spindles and caliper brackets for 1973-1976 A body mopars. use those along with rotors for the same application. The rotors are actually the same all the way to about 1985 ish on most rear wheel drive cars.