• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Rebuilding a 1972 Plymouth satellite on a budget

AdamBrooks98

Local time
2:15 AM
Reaction score
Good morning folks, this is my first time posting on FBBO. I've lurked on this sight off and on for a few years, but I finally decided to join and start asking some questions. I have a 1972 Plymouth satellite Sebring with a 318 LA and a 3 speed 904 transmission. I believe it is numbers matching(not that anyone cares lol), and I don't think it's ever been rebuilt. I've put a decent amount of work into the car to keep it on the road, and I've been driving it for the last few years. I'm getting out of the Marine Corps and moving from southern California to Wisconsin in December, and I figured it was a good opportunity to run it up route 66. I want to build the engine and transmission before I embark on a 2,000 mile journey and end up stuck in the middle of Utah with 7 pistons. I've rebuilt/replaced just about everything that I can bolt on to the engine, but I've yet to tackle the valvetrain or rotating assembly. I know the car has been run out of oil once (oil pump shaft sheared off on a healthy acceleration)and overheated a few times (someone installed a block heater before I bought the car), so I'm fairly certain I'll need to bore it out a bit. I've looked a few things up and it seems like most people tend to chuck the 318 in favor of the torque that a 360 offers, and I'm open to any suggestions. I want to switch over to a 4 speed manual transmission if possible, but I have no idea how that would work. I've heard rumors that these 318's can be stroked to a 390, but that sounds like it's more of a novelty than a realistic plan. If anyone knows of a good shop in southern CA, or has been here/done this, I would love to hear what worked for you. I'll