Speedometer cable question.

Engine, Trans & Driveline

  1. 64SF

    64SF FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    569
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ocala,Florida
    Local Time:
    10:57 AM
    I've installed an aftermarket mechanical speedometer in my 65 Satellite. It's a 4 speed Transmission with the flanged output shaft. The speedometer cable is part of the speedometer gear (I hope I'm describing that correctly) it is not like the 66 and later transmissions where the cable attaches externally. Here's the problem...the new speedometer will not register above 20 miles per hour. I'm wondering if cable inside the jacket may have failed or may not be going into the speedometer all the way. If the cable has failed is it possible just to replace the internal cable (inside the jacket) or must I buy a whole new one which over $120.00. Any thoughts or comments appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. Tony Tee

    Tony Tee Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    510
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Location:
    ocala florida
    Local Time:
    10:57 AM
    Howdy from South Ocala!
    If the cable failed it would read zero. It could be that the speedometer gear is not engaged all the way and maybe skipping teeth at a higher speeds or the speedometer is malfunctioning.
     
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
    • Dipstick

      Dipstick Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      959
      Likes Received:
      935
      Joined:
      Oct 26, 2018
      Location:
      Out West
      Local Time:
      7:57 AM
      Did the speedo you replaced work before the change? Does the new speedo also have an odometer? If so, does the odometer work? I'm thinking the new speedo is faulty.
       
    • multimopes

      multimopes FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      2,107
      Likes Received:
      2675
      Joined:
      May 6, 2015
      Location:
      Columbia ,NJ
      Local Time:
      10:57 AM
      I'm not sure, but I thought I read somewhere that they went to cable/gear type somewhere in the late 70's to early 80"s to prevent people disconnecting the speedometer at the trans and keep mileage from accruing. If you did that with that all in one type, trans fluid would leak all over. One other thought, (if I have any left) LOL; is I think I remember that depending on the gear tooth count, it gets inserted in different positions in the trans. and if you put it in the wrong position you get results like you are describing.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • 64SF

        64SF FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

        Messages:
        855
        Likes Received:
        569
        Joined:
        Mar 16, 2011
        Location:
        Ocala,Florida
        Local Time:
        10:57 AM
        Unfortunately I don't know if the old (stock) speedometer worked or not. Car was not running when I bought it. I installed a new mechanical speedometer that I bought from Speedway Motors in a gauge package...not sure of the quality. The odometer does work.
         
      • 64SF

        64SF FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

        Messages:
        855
        Likes Received:
        569
        Joined:
        Mar 16, 2011
        Location:
        Ocala,Florida
        Local Time:
        10:57 AM
        I also recall now that you mention it that it does have to be inserted in a certain position in order to work properly...I'll double check that as well.
         
      • 64SF

        64SF FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

        Messages:
        855
        Likes Received:
        569
        Joined:
        Mar 16, 2011
        Location:
        Ocala,Florida
        Local Time:
        10:57 AM
        I'll double check the gear to see if it's fully engaged. Thanks
         
      • lewtot184

        lewtot184 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        4,674
        Likes Received:
        2964
        Joined:
        Aug 21, 2011
        Location:
        indianapolis
        Local Time:
        10:57 AM
        the '65 and earlier speedo pinions don't index like the '66 and up. it's just a straight push in.
         
      • 64SF

        64SF FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

        Messages:
        855
        Likes Received:
        569
        Joined:
        Mar 16, 2011
        Location:
        Ocala,Florida
        Local Time:
        10:57 AM
        Here's the gauge package that I bought from Speedway....beginning to think although the price was ok (just over $200.00) the quality reflects the lower cost. Also the tac is a bit bouncy and accuracy is questionable. Oh well..
        Just checked and it only goes in one way.
         
      • Dipstick

        Dipstick Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        959
        Likes Received:
        935
        Joined:
        Oct 26, 2018
        Location:
        Out West
        Local Time:
        7:57 AM
        Then the cable isn't the problem. Sounds like you got a bad unit right out of the box.
        You can grind the end of a steel rod .100" square and put it in a reversible cordless drill to test the unit. 1000 rpm equals 60 mph.
         
        Last edited: Apr 21, 2021
        • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
        1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
          By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.