• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Thermoquad rebuild question

zombezoo

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
3:31 AM
Reaction score
I'm watching the rocky road show series that goes through rebuilding a thermoquad. I noticed my float bowl has some damage. Looking for experts to weigh in, seems like areas that won't cause a problem but since I have no experience with these i would prefer to hear from someone who knows better.

Note the missing piece in the center and the small missing bits on each of the primary wells.

None of these appear to line up with gasket sections so I'm thinking it's ok to run this. Please let me know your thoughts.

PXL_20230812_023551320.jpg

PXL_20230812_023601742.jpg

PXL_20230812_023624941.jpg

PXL_20230812_023640804.jpg

That primary side chunk that's missing is where the square o-ring seals to booster transfer tube, probably no good

It's no where near the seats for those seals.

16918145207035293220234541594840.jpg

16918145550548171406765580807447.jpg

You can certainly re-use the bowl. The area on the top of the bowl where it is chipped is recessed. Nothing there to seal. The secondary air baffle fits into the slot where the chip is, but is secured in slots in the body on both ends. Good to go. Congrats on using the TQ.

If it really bothers you, the center could be repaired with JB Weld but as the others have stated, function will not be impaired.
Mike

These were the answers I was looking for. Thanks. I'm not worried about the aesthetic just the function. Going to work on finishing the cleaning and start reassembly today. Hopefully it works when in done.