• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Valve lash / head gasket etc.

Moparjack 489

Local time
8:17 AM
Reaction score
Hi guys, sorry as a engine rookie I have some maybe stupid questions

Engine is a 426 gen. 2 Hemi with actual 489cui ,( first over bore ) mopar mega block ( cast iron ) with Keith black billet crankshaft , mopars performance aluminum heads ( full ported)
Oliver rods
Ross piston ( compression ratio 11,34:1)
Solid lifter with a roller cam ( 4343-10)
and roller rockers ( Norris / Indy )
Intake Indy mod man with 2 x750 AFB EDE carbs
Head gasket is a 1106 from Felpro

First question: After first engine running felpro recommend to re-torque this head gaskets ?

second question : the valve lash written on the cam card everytime talk about “ warm” engine , right ? if on cold you must add something , right ?

And I have to add also something because I have a cast iron short block and aluminum heads , or just what shows on the cam card ?

Third question: for what are the “ notches “ in the cylinder bore “ on my short block ? And have this done after it comes from the factory by the engine builder, or is this notches make by the factory ?

Many thanks in advance , I a complete engine rookie but want to learn and understand something .
40665DC4-CA50-4F1A-8EF7-9AE03234CEEB.jpeg
C2F7903E-A925-4FE9-B58B-55E48698CDAB.jpeg
E04D92F7-F9BD-4547-8FDD-204997D241B7.jpeg
3F056216-77DC-4A6F-BAF2-27E523248AC6.jpeg

IMO:
If fel pro recommends retorqueing the heads, after the first run, I would do it.
Better SAFE, then sorry. After the first (or a few ) heat cycles, MAYBE things can get out of wack.

Same for setting valve lash, if they give you specs to set when warm, then that is how they assure the correct settings, and how I would do it.