• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Wheels

jball1105

Local time
7:55 AM
Reaction score
Hey guys,
Just started to look for wheels for my 63 Sport Fury. I plan on converting to disc brakes, 2' drop spindles, and want 18" wheels. I am just learning about backspacing and all that and trying to figure out how wide I can go. I am not modifying the body (no tubs). Any suggestions, or words of wisdom? I 've been looking at Boss 338 and Foose legends.
Thanks,
Jesse

My words of wisdom are to take the time to learn what backspacing and offsets (same exact thing just a different way of saying it) are then have at it. Backspacing is simply the measurement from the mounting surface (axle) to the backside of the rim but keep in mind rim width is measured inside of the lips so a 10" wide rim is more like 11" total width.

Knowing this lay a straight edge flat against the rotor/brake drum so it extends into the wheel opening and measure in to the tub.. subtract for clearance and you have your backspacing. Another thing to factor in is how much bulge the sidewalls will have if running a tire wider then the rim which at that point you just figure it into your calculations.

If I had a 63 I'd be more help but mine being a 69 I doubt they're the same. Good luck

I wouldn't even think about wheels and tires until you get your suspension and brake mods done. Disc swaps frequently change track width, and lowering spindles will change the amount of room available.
Do you still have keyway axles in the rear? I don't know if discs are available for them. Research is in order.
If you keep your stock wheels around you can use them as a tool to measure the room available. Fwiw, backspace is much easier to understand that offset in mm. at least for me anyway.