Wideband o2 for tunning

General Mopar Tech Discussions

  1. RobsRR

    RobsRR Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Location:
    NC
    Local Time:
    8:17 PM
    I was considering buying a wideband o2 sensor/gauge to see how close my tune is. Can anyone offer any advise? Is it worth it rather than putting on a Dyno? I never used one. Any brands you like or dislike. Don't want to spend a ton. Thought it would be neat though.
     
  2. 69 GTX

    69 GTX FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    6,169
    Likes Received:
    5669
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    Milo, Iowa
    Local Time:
    7:17 PM
    I bought a Innovative LM2. But don't have it running yet. Several guys highly recommend it. It has the ability to record to help you time that way also.

    PS I got the one with 2 O2 sensors so I have one in each side. Helpful with dual planes
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2020 at 11:45 PM
  3. RobsRR

    RobsRR Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Location:
    NC
    Local Time:
    8:17 PM
    Ok I will look it up.
     
  4. Demonic

    Demonic Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    624
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Location:
    Over the hills, far away
    Local Time:
    8:17 PM
    I had an Innovate LM1 and it was nice, outdated now.

    Don't go crazy watching the data. A split second of rich or lean won't mess you up unless you're racing every weekend. Look at your plugs also.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • 64 Sportfury

      64 Sportfury FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      173
      Likes Received:
      91
      Joined:
      Sep 13, 2011
      Location:
      Nassau, NY
      Local Time:
      8:17 PM
      I installed an AEM brand wideband (Summit sale) along with a vacuum gauge and a oil catch can. I am tuning a Hemi with a cross ram and two Holleys. After chasing my tail with the tune, the wideband really showed me how far off I'd been. I don't think you can go wrong sticking with a name brand. It's an aid like all the of the things I mentioned, but I think reading your plugs, if you have that skillset will get you there as well.
       
    • RobsRR

      RobsRR Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      96
      Likes Received:
      14
      Joined:
      Dec 15, 2017
      Location:
      NC
      Local Time:
      8:17 PM
      Just had a thought I have a Innova scan tool it's a few years old but was a good one at the time and does read air fuel has live data. I wonder if that can some how be used ?
       
    • threewood

      threewood FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      4,157
      Likes Received:
      4834
      Joined:
      May 30, 2014
      Location:
      Yuma, AZ
      Local Time:
      5:17 PM
      I'm running an AEM as well. It was $156 + shipping after Thanksgiving. I like it and has definitely helped me tune, especially wide open throttle.
      avm-30-4110_sn_xl.jpg 20180121_232119.jpg 20180122_131751.jpg
       
      • Like Like x 2
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • RobsRR

        RobsRR Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        96
        Likes Received:
        14
        Joined:
        Dec 15, 2017
        Location:
        NC
        Local Time:
        8:17 PM
      • 69 GTX

        69 GTX FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

        Messages:
        6,169
        Likes Received:
        5669
        Joined:
        Apr 6, 2013
        Location:
        Milo, Iowa
        Local Time:
        7:17 PM
        :steering:
        20180122_131751-jpg.jpg
        OK now post a picture at 6000 rpm at say 65 mph :steering::popcorn2:
         
        • Agree Agree x 2
        • Dan64

          Dan64 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          558
          Likes Received:
          511
          Joined:
          Dec 27, 2018
          Location:
          South Jersey
          Local Time:
          8:17 PM
          I never thought of needing two for dual planes but it does make sense. I bought the single AEM for my 64' Polara and it's going to be running a Indy dual plane but i've cut down the divider wall about 3/4" and will most likely run as much spacer height as i can , probably no more than 1", i wonder if these mods will make the single reader ok to use?. IDK.
           
        • hunt2elk

          hunt2elk FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          5,605
          Likes Received:
          3824
          Joined:
          Jul 15, 2009
          Location:
          WI
          Local Time:
          7:17 PM
          I have a couple of AEM's and like them a lot. Same style as threewood posted above.
           
          • Like Like x 1
          • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
          • beanhead

            beanhead Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            4,809
            Likes Received:
            7977
            Joined:
            May 18, 2014
            Location:
            Wackyfornia
            Local Time:
            5:17 PM
            Two different usages. The A/F meter will help you monitor the mixture during your actual driving conditions but should NOT be a substitute for keeping an eye on your plugs. (The gauge can be saying you're perfect but you wonder why it feels sluggish!) The dyno is good for a one-time tune and readout of the output of the engine, so if you have the money why not do both. Dyno time is obviously much more expensive, but keep in mind you'll need to poke a hole in the exhaust and weld in a threaded bung for the O2 sensor(all of which should be included with the gauge kit). I personally don't trust the wiz-bang clamp-on crap. I too have had good results with AEM but your experience may differ..
            Some things to keep in mind once/if you get one--As others have said, don't get hung up on the gauge number. Most of our stuff often isn't happy or making the most power at the '14.7' reading. It takes tuning work to get it nailed at idle/cruise/WOT, then see what the gauge says when the plugs and performance are right, and tinker periodically to keep the number in that neighborhood.
             
            • Agree Agree x 2
            • RobsRR

              RobsRR Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              96
              Likes Received:
              14
              Joined:
              Dec 15, 2017
              Location:
              NC
              Local Time:
              8:17 PM
              Thanks for your knowledge and advise.
               
            • rolling_Thunder

              rolling_Thunder Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              613
              Likes Received:
              137
              Joined:
              Jul 19, 2008
              Location:
              Los Angeles, CA
              Local Time:
              5:17 PM
              I'll be running an AEM 30-0310 with my MS3X - Was originally thinking of an Innovate LM2 but people convinced me to go with the AEM for my application - also they are about 10 minutes from the house in case I need help haha
               
              • Like Like x 1
              • andyf

                andyf Well-Known Member

                Messages:
                649
                Likes Received:
                1012
                Joined:
                Jul 21, 2012
                Location:
                Oregon
                Local Time:
                5:17 PM
                Autometer sells one that matches their other gauges so if you already have Pro Comp gauges in your car you might think about a matching wideband from them. I had a large Autometer gauge panel in my Coronet for a while with a wideband as well as Tach, oil pressure, coolant temp and vacuum.
                DSC_2892 (Large).JPG
                 
                • Like Like x 2
                • threewood

                  threewood FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  4,157
                  Likes Received:
                  4834
                  Joined:
                  May 30, 2014
                  Location:
                  Yuma, AZ
                  Local Time:
                  5:17 PM
                  Well said! 14.7 stoic is a pipe dream. My idle is 13.3 - 13.8 to get it to idle nice. Any leaner and it feels like it will stall. I can tune it pretty close by ear and using a vac gauge and tach but the reading lets me see what it is doing real time while driving.
                   
                  • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
                  • Agree Agree x 1
                  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.