• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Will larger rims slow a car down?

Myasylum

Local time
4:01 AM
Reaction score
Just wondering if anyone has done a study on this? I have 15x8 Stock(ish) steelie rallye rims at the rear now (center caps and trim rings and 275/60/15 Tires), but spin pretty easily, thinking about getting 15x10 rims with larger tires for better traction, however would that extra weight slow the car down?

Or would an aftermarket Aluminum rim be better if they are lighter weight? Perhaps, the difference is so miniscule it doesn't really matter? IDK? This is why I ask.

Any opinions on this?

Thanks!

i’m no scientist but was taught long ago , any reduction in un-spring weight is good for speed & acceleration…

I doubt you would notice a difference provided you are sticking with the same diameter of tire.

Not unless the rims are solid lead and the tires are filled with concrete !!

YES absolutely! Go to the tack and get a time slip. You can see and feel the difference. Those 8" wide steel wheels are 30-32lbs EACH. That is a ton of weight, and it's not only unsprung weight it is rotating weight.

Car Craft magazine in early 80's did a drag test on a car with 15x8" rallies, then some aluminum wheels like weld wheels or center lines. It was 2 thenth's and 3 mph. The car was a small block chevelle street car.

now the post #3 that said you may not notice the difference is true, many won't, and the illusion of winder tires and more performance is real. BUT, that doesn't mean it won't be happening and you don't know it.

Now how about the effects on the braking with heavier wheels and tires? That's a real thing also.