• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

cam degreeing

Moparmatt72

Local time
1:00 AM
Reaction score
Okay so I know you go 0.050 on both sides of the lobe then you add the two numbers and divide by 2, what do I do with that number afterward? Sry its my first time to degree a cam. My cam card says my degree is 108 but will still degree to double check.

Thanks

Should you degree your new cam?
"It isn’t absolutely necessary to degree the cam for the engine to run efficiently. COMP Cams® grinds most of its High Energy™, Magnum, and Xtreme Energy™ Cams four degrees advanced. This positions the camshaft for the best street performance. However, to assure maximum performance it is recommended to degree the cam. The purpose of degreeing a camshaft is to correct the errors and tolerances in the machining processes of the engine that can affect camshaft timing. COMP Cams® suggests the intake centerline method as the most simple, quick, and efficient way to degree a new camshaft. Instructions for degreeing can be found later in this booklet."

I think it's absolutely necessary just because of what this article states...to correct errors and tolerances in the machining process!!!!!! I've even had Comp cams that were ground off center of the locating dowel pin! It amazes me that they would even say it's not absolutely necessary to do this.

Add the 2 numbers together and divide by 2. That number will be the location of maximum lift
of the intake lobe in relation to the crank and piston. This is the intake centerline. For example:
The first degree wheel reading was 96 degrees. The second reading was 116 degrees. These
two numbers (96 + 116) added together will be 212. 212 divided by 2 will equal 106. Your