• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Coolant leak at Timing Chain Gasket-Your opinions please for a noob

fuzzrighteous

Local time
2:12 AM
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

So yes i am a newb both to this forum and classic cars. I bought my first classic about 3 months ago, 67 Belvedere 4 dr with a 318 for a daily driver. All was running smooth until a small coolant leak developed. When inspecting the water pump/gasket, I found the leak actually coming from what i am guessing is the timing chain gasket on top driver side.

Do you guys recommend that I try out some radiator stop leak (Bar's Leak) or is this futile?

Should I just change the gasket and if so how big of job is this? Is this something I could handle myslef, with limited mechanic experience, or should I leave it to an expert?

I did do some research on the youtube and found this dude replacing his timing chain on a 318:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DR0gElxzA7o

I feel I may be able to handle this until I get to that Harmonic Balancer thing to get timing cover off. Ofcourse I looks a lot easier when the engine is out of the car haha!

Thanks in advance!

Best,
Fuzz

If you know your 'lefty-Lucy, righty-tighty' rules, and can see what does and doesn't need to be removed to get down to the timing chain cover, then you can probably tackle this. Worst case...you get half way into it and decide it's more than you can do, simply bolt everything back together and take it to a shop. Even if things are leaking a bit, you should be able to safely get it there.

My suggestion? Get a buddy (2nd set of eyes and hands) that is a bit car savvy to help you out.