• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Electrical Issues 68 Satellite

matt90b3

Local time
8:46 AM
Reaction score
Hey guys. Im a little new to the whole muscle car world so bear with me.
Im having trouble getting power to...basically everywhere.
My main focus right now is the forward lighting. When I picked up the 68 Satellite shell, the lighting harness was clipped in a few spots. Its beyond me why it needed to be done to remove the 318, but I got that all squared away and re connected along with dropping another motor in. I have power going to the bulkhead from a brand new battery. The only problem is now that nothing works. What could I be missing? or be broken?
Thanks

Sounds scary. Could be as simple as fuses, or some seriously messed up wiring. Crawl under the dash and take a peek around. Check the switch on the dash and the dimmer switch on the floor. And get a wiring diagram. The factory service manuals can be gotten on cd. They have wiring diagrams as well as info on all aspects of the car. Consider it to be as important a tool as any wrench or screwdriver. A must have

A wiring diagram is definitely a must have, I would still be starting at the engine harness if it were not for the diagram. But my next suspect would be a circuit breaker. I see it on the schematic connected to the wire that goes to the starter relay from the battery. Assuming the breaker doesn't work, nothing gets power. I was just hoping someone would have experience with this component and maybe where its located.
Oh, and nothing is being shorted. I tested with a test light.