• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Help! Design of 1969 Charger 440 Rear Dual Turbo!

BigLime

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
1:44 AM
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

Newbie here for Mopar and Turbos. (Just qualifying my discussion so people don't beat the crap out of me!)

I am starting the design of a 1969 Charger 440 rear mount dual turbo setup and I really need help from not only the engine guys, but the turbo guys.

Here is my motor, which is still a mystery to some degree:

Mystery 440- Help!

As a recap, I(with help from you guys!) found out it is pretty much a stock rebuild with every thing forged. 1970 block, 30 over.
The only difference is the Speedpro (heavy) pistons and an Edelbrock Performer RPM intake with a 750 Holley car.
Cam- I don't know about until I take the heads off and measure it out.
Looks like around 9.5:1 compression based on the Speed Pro L2355f30 installed and stock heads.- Still need to CC to find out.

I am looking at the upgrades shown below. Why? I want the turbos to make up for the deficiency in the current motor. I am also lazy and don't want to change the motor too much. Let's discuss this decisions!
Also, a rear dual turbo setup will be the equivalent of a blower sticking through the hood in terms of looks and pizzazz!
NO, for those of you who will ask, I am not going to cut my hood for a blower. Also, I looked into a Procharger or equivalent, but the HP loss versus gain just doesn't float my boat.

Underhood temps are a real concern in AZ where I may be driving around when it is 110 out. With a lower HP engine like mine, I would need to have significant boost with a Procharger due the Procharger losses.

This is a street machine only, so I think that an engine that has tremendous torque in the 2500 PRM range is the best for my needs.