• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Need help with lag off the line

68HAVOK

Local time
10:15 AM
Reaction score
A few months back I picked up a 68 Satellite and while driving it there is serious lag off the line. 360 with Holley 4bbl, Edelbrock intake. I am not mechanical but am willing to figure this out myself. Where should I start. Feels to me like a fuel issue and sometimes it is not there (the lag). Thanks for any help guys.

Attachments

• 20150827_111047.jpg
    20150827_111047.jpg
    74.3 KB · Views: 316
  • 20150827_111118.jpg
    20150827_111118.jpg
    70.4 KB · Views: 307
Lots of variables...but I'd start with the carb and timing.

I see what you are talking about dieseldazzle. Should that be plugged or? Again I am a novice.

Its ported so its only got vacuum when the throttle blades open past the idle circuits if I remember right.

Will do. I'll let you know how it goes. Thanks!

Plugged the port just now and took it for a spin. Seemed to do well. A little to early to tell though due to the issue not happening 100% of the time. More in the 60 to 70%. I'll keep you all updated.

Lag can be no fuel or too much fuel, I would start with a larger air cleaner (it it my eyes or does that look tiny), compression test, some carb clean, sea foam, then change the plugs, check the wires, adjust the timing and tune the carb...

I had a few cars in here that guys thought ran good, but just got used to putting up with bogging, poor acceleration , and off idle response.