• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Structural body adhesive. Any experience, or advice?

scotts74birds

Local time
5:02 AM
Reaction score
Hi guys. I'm doing this on my Ram, but the knowledge crosses to our B-bodys. I have a 97 Ram that I am replacing the left-rear wheel-arch. The plan is to cut the body, and use a home-made flanging tool to set the recess on the body. The patch is a Sherman part, about 1.2mil. The flange tool we made is about 1.7mil to allow for adhesive depth, and the natural "spring-back" of the metal.
We set the flange length at 3/4". I will be using self-tapping screws for clamping, in pre-drilled holes.
How far apart should these screws be? There will be some stitch-welding of the panel after the adhesive to provide additional mechanical bond. I'm not very good at welding, so my goal is to keep it to a minimum.
All advice is welcome

Since you have the welder, why not practice for a couple of hours on similar patches until you're confident that you can do it that way?

However if you're going to glue it, and I'm guessing you mean something like Eastwood's No-Weld panel adhesive, or 3M automix 2-part adhesive, then you'll want the screws a couple inches apart. If you do a dry run and find any particular part isn't tight, you can add another one in that spot right away. Your 3/4" flange is about right, most times a minimum of 1/2 is mentioned, but no more than 1 inch.

If you do it this way, I wouldn't follow it up with the stitch welding as you mentioned, as the heat will damage the adhesive. The glue is pretty strong on its own.