• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Stupid intake manifold questions?

cmkryzer

Local time
7:14 PM
Reaction score
I have been working on and off my 1967 GTX for the last 8 years, and had a 440 rebuilt and have slowly been puting it together. I had recently got to putting the aluminum intake on, which was new from mopar and has been sitting in its box for the last six years, and low and behold..it dont fit, almost seams like it shrunk. I can get one bankof the bolts to line up, and not the other side.
I am not sure what the deal is. Heads where not shaved, and I have pretty stock head gaskets on it. So am i that blind and missing something, or has anyone else had this problem??
Thanks in advance!

Welcome!!!!!

hmmmm....do you remember ordering the right one??? what P/N is it???

Are you using any other gaskets besides the valley pan? In my experience you can't add paper gaskets to the valley pan.

Are you using any other gaskets besides the valley pan? In my experience you can't add paper gaskets to the valley pan.

i was thinking the same thing, Meep.

but then again, with an aluminum surface being in contact with an iron (im assuming) one, wouldn't you want some sort of gasket for the different expansion/contraction rates of the diff metals??

plus it seems that his alum intake is too small if i read it right...could that gap be for the gaskets?

just spitballing here...