• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Where were you, In the summer of '73? American Graffitti turns 50 years old.

SteveSS

Local time
4:04 AM
Reaction score
The movie asks, "Where were you in '62?" The movie lifted George Lucas up to stardom and to a galaxy far, far away. This monster hit stuck a chord with America. Since I graduated in '75 we were very much into the 50's nostalgia movement. I had my '66 Mustang fastback but I had a '56 Ford pickup with flames and a yellow '47 Chevy business coupe. We had 50's days at school and 50's dances on the weekends.

Customers car

863D64C4-FDA1-4609-8EC8-03F91F04D403.jpeg

I can't believe that was 50 years ago! I remember Suzanne Somers being on the Tonight Show with Johnny Carson to hype the movie. She walked out on the stage wearing a slinky blue gown. I almost swallowed my tongue. She was gorgeous!

Summer of 73, i was still in the city of Waterbury, CT. where i grew up, just waiting a few more weeks into September, after Labor Day, waiting to go into the Air Force, with my delayed enlistment date.
Did 7 years, from 73 to 80.

I turned 16 late that summer, got my drivers license and Dad bought me a 67 Camaro....was the best year of my life....a car and gas money and girls....and the world was waiting for me with her secrets to be discovered....

I just watched it the other night. Still awesome!

First where's Kern Dog? Could we get a spell check on the thread title please... American Graffiti

Cruising the streets in Modesto Ca.... George Lucas' childhood home was less than 1/4 mile from my home at the time.... I attended the same HS & Community College, know plenty of guys that were in George's graduating class....

Last edited: