• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Adding a 220V circuit into a building for air compressor and car lift.

Kern Dog

Life is full of turns. Build your car to handle.
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
5:25 AM
Reaction score
I was a good Carpenter but never learned much about electrical work.
I'm looking to move and one of the things I'm sure I'll encounter is a garage that has no dedicated 220V circuit so I will have to add one. I'm embarrassed to admit, I just don't fully understand the mechanics of this.
In my current shop, it has a 200A panel that gets power from the house 190 feet away. For the next place, I'm aware that all I need to do is tap into whatever sub-panel there is. Would you mind dumbing it down a bit for me? I wired my own shop 16 years ago and forgot some of the details of how I did it here.
@kiwigtx

I'm not going to search the internet for pics, but in your breaker panel you have 2 bus bars; L1 & L2. Normal 120 VAC breakers tap one or the other. They occupy one space in the breaker panel. 220 VAC breakers take up 2X the space, tapping both bars. In other words, 120 VAC connects a Source (through the breaker) where the load references neutral (white wires). 220 VAC references L1 & L2. They are 120 VAC legs out of phase with each other. EVERY HOME IN AMERICA HAS PROVISIONS FOR 220 VAC!! You just have to run the wires through the appropriate breaker to get your desired 220 volts.