Battery Posts - Any Available with Both Top & Side?

Electrical & Ignition

  1. Will-Fonkjam

    Will-Fonkjam FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Location:
    Westchester, IL
    Local Time:
    10:37 PM
    Anyone running with both top & side posts in their B-body? If so, which one? Any pics?
    I'm looking for a good one for an under hood location in my 69 Coronet -preferably a lead acid style... but will consider AGM.
    Reason: Soon I'll be installing EFI and the power connection needs to be directly on the battery and I don't want to splice into or crowd the OEM battery cable & post.
    I'd prefer to use the extra side post for this. And a lead-acid battery for ease of long term preservation & maintenance.
    Will
     
  2. 493 Mike

    493 Mike FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    3536
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    White Cloud, MI
    Local Time:
    11:37 PM
    My red top Optima has 4 connection points.
    Mike
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • chtampa

      chtampa FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      2,094
      Likes Received:
      2541
      Joined:
      Nov 24, 2013
      Location:
      Tampa, FL
      Local Time:
      11:37 PM
      I ran my EFI off of the Starter Relay post, through the firewall onto a post under the dash.
       
    • MoparLeo

      MoparLeo NRA PATRON LEVEL LIFE MEMBER FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      1,293
      Likes Received:
      1084
      Joined:
      Nov 24, 2015
      Location:
      Moreno Valley, So California
      Local Time:
      8:37 PM
      Interstate Battery MTP 34/78 Dual terminal.

      MTP-78DT1.jpg
       
    • 69 GeeTeeX

      69 GeeTeeX Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      96
      Likes Received:
      80
      Joined:
      Apr 26, 2020
      Location:
      Michigan
      Local Time:
      11:37 PM
      I also use a duel post battery for a sniper EFI in one of my cars. I’m using an AGM battery from NAPA.
       
    • Will-Fonkjam

      Will-Fonkjam FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      72
      Likes Received:
      61
      Joined:
      Jul 24, 2017
      Location:
      Westchester, IL
      Local Time:
      10:37 PM
      Which model from NAPA?
       
    • MoparLeo

      MoparLeo NRA PATRON LEVEL LIFE MEMBER FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      1,293
      Likes Received:
      1084
      Joined:
      Nov 24, 2015
      Location:
      Moreno Valley, So California
      Local Time:
      8:37 PM
      I thought you said that you wanted a lead-acid battery.
       
    • Nacho-RT74

      Nacho-RT74 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      4,579
      Likes Received:
      1553
      Joined:
      Oct 8, 2012
      Location:
      Valencia, España
      Local Time:
      5:37 AM
      If you are using your ammeter, that won't be the correct procedure, but from alt post... or a buss related to.
       
    • Will-Fonkjam

      Will-Fonkjam FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      72
      Likes Received:
      61
      Joined:
      Jul 24, 2017
      Location:
      Westchester, IL
      Local Time:
      10:37 PM
      Said would consider AGM...
      Anyway, found one that will work.
      The 34/78 series seems to be the key.
      Local Advance Auto has this one for $149.99 incl. core
      Model 34/78/4
      Thanks Leo!
      Die Hard 34 78-4.jpg
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Will-Fonkjam

        Will-Fonkjam FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

        Messages:
        72
        Likes Received:
        61
        Joined:
        Jul 24, 2017
        Location:
        Westchester, IL
        Local Time:
        10:37 PM
        Remove the DieHard paper labels, Paint the top letting black, Stick a Mopar label on the front and fake caps on top and....
        I'll have a conversation piece!
        Will
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • RJRENTON

          RJRENTON FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          1,618
          Likes Received:
          1441
          Joined:
          Jul 1, 2015
          Location:
          South Shores area of Decatur, Illinois
          Local Time:
          10:37 PM
          BUT....IF your not using an ammeter, it does not matter....the subject is the battery type, not how it's connected......
          BOB RENTON
           
        • Will-Fonkjam

          Will-Fonkjam FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          72
          Likes Received:
          61
          Joined:
          Jul 24, 2017
          Location:
          Westchester, IL
          Local Time:
          10:37 PM
          ???
           
        • 64fury74charger

          64fury74charger Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          239
          Likes Received:
          232
          Joined:
          Feb 7, 2021
          Location:
          Lynnwood WA
          Local Time:
          8:37 PM
          :popcorn2: :popcorn2: :luvplace: :moparsmiley::moparsmiley::moparsmiley::usflag:
           
        • 72RoadrunnerGTX

          72RoadrunnerGTX FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          1,345
          Likes Received:
          892
          Joined:
          Jan 14, 2009
          Location:
          Shoreline, Washington
          Local Time:
          8:37 PM
          Running the risk of being off-topic, all vehicle loads need to be on the alternator side of the ammeter if still running one. Current loads added to the battery will register as charging current and can over stress the ammeter and/or related connections. As mentioned, if the ammeter has been by-passed, no matter.
           
          Last edited: Mar 28, 2021
        • Nacho-RT74

          Nacho-RT74 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          4,579
          Likes Received:
          1553
          Joined:
          Oct 8, 2012
          Location:
          Valencia, España
          Local Time:
          5:37 AM
          OP:
          My Reply, which is based on stock/factory configuration to figure it out, so is the default stage to think on:
          Other reply, which even is true, is based with nothing exposed, not even thinking in the initial factory configuration which is the main and logic one... and still would need to think on how any mod was made to save from this to make it true:

          soooooo...
           
          Last edited: Mar 29, 2021
        • 69 GeeTeeX

          69 GeeTeeX Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          96
          Likes Received:
          80
          Joined:
          Apr 26, 2020
          Location:
          Michigan
          Local Time:
          11:37 PM
          So if the OP was using the original ammeter gauge and the sniper system says to hook up directly to the positive and negative battery terminals what would be the correct way to install. I understand the factory ammeter isn't capable of handling the additional load of EFI but not sure how to get around it with the ability to still use the factory ammeter gauge.
           
        • 72RoadrunnerGTX

          72RoadrunnerGTX FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          1,345
          Likes Received:
          892
          Joined:
          Jan 14, 2009
          Location:
          Shoreline, Washington
          Local Time:
          8:37 PM
          One way to accomplish it.


          20200426_110519.jpg
           
        • Nacho-RT74

          Nacho-RT74 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          4,579
          Likes Received:
          1553
          Joined:
          Oct 8, 2012
          Location:
          Valencia, España
          Local Time:
          5:37 AM

          With a GOOD alt the ammeter won't read anything from the EFI system... except if alternator is not capable to feed it and that's the moment the batt will feed and ammeter will read a partial discharge. Dunno the load EFI system requires to work though! 3 to 5 amps ? The ammeter could be on 2-3 amps discharge reading with a low capacity alt.
           
        • RJRENTON

          RJRENTON FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          1,618
          Likes Received:
          1441
          Joined:
          Jul 1, 2015
          Location:
          South Shores area of Decatur, Illinois
          Local Time:
          10:37 PM
          Once again suppositions on your part. How did you reach the conclusion about the ammeter not reading anything from the EFI system until you know specifics about the total system? Generalities are meaningless unless substantive. FYI.....you need to review the fundamentals of Kirchoffs voltage and current nodal analysis before making statements that deal with nothing. PM me if you need or want further information and explanation on Kirchoffs laws.
          BOB RENTON
           
        • Will-Fonkjam

          Will-Fonkjam FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          72
          Likes Received:
          61
          Joined:
          Jul 24, 2017
          Location:
          Westchester, IL
          Local Time:
          10:37 PM
          My reasoning for a direct connection to the battery posts is primarily to minimize electrical turbulence or fluctuations that can potentially cause problems with these EFI systems.

          Sure there are other ways to get your honey, but if you tap right into the hive you know it's pure :). However, I still want it to look good & stealthy.

          No ammeter any more... I just monitor voltage.
           
        1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
          By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.