• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Clutch pedal issue

Paul73

Local time
1:47 AM
Reaction score
So I just installed a new ram clutch in my 4 speed 69 roadrunner and for some reason the pedal only wants to stay half way up. It’s done this ever since I bought the car and before I swapped the clutch. I can move it all the way up with my hand and when I push it down, it shoots back down to half travel. I have the throw out bearing spaced out about 1/8 inch or so from the clutch fingers which I heard was fine but I don’t think the pedal is supposed to stick up. I’ve never done a clutch swap before so I don’t exactly know what I’m doing wrong and yes, I was following the factory service manual. Or at least I was trying to… Any help would be appreciated.

IMG_1792.jpeg

IMG_1793.jpeg

Is your new clutch a diaphragm type clutch? Some clutches require the over center spring in the clutch pedal under the dash to be removed.

I believe it is… not too sure how to differentiate between the different types but here’s what it looks like. I had a good friend recommend this clutch so that’s how I ended up with it.

IMG_1706.jpeg

That's a "Borg and Beck" pressure plate, requires the over center spring to be on your clutch pedal.

That's a Borg & Beck (3 finger) style, not diaphragm.
You've got the same clutch as I do - and mine does the same thing.
I just stick my toes under the pedal and lift it back up when it does.
I can't believe it's a product of a weak over-center spring - I think it's inherent
to that particular pressure plate.

In fact, I dislike that clutch so much I had Dan Brewer send me another B&B setup to
swap this one out, even though it's only got a couple thousand miles on it.

That's a Borg & Beck (3 finger) style, not diaphragm.