Fuel cell questions

LemonWedge

Well-Known Member
Local time
1:14 AM
Joined
Dec 27, 2009
Messages
750
Reaction score
1,570
Location
Puyallup, WA
I’m looking at Fuel cells, and have a few questions:
1. Is it possible to run the factory fuel gauge in my 67Satellite From a fuel cell sending unit.

2. I see differing opinions of foam filled vs. no foam. What’s the straight scoop?

3. For a bracket car that sees a little street time, is there a disadvantage to bigger (16 gal) cells?

thanks in advance-
LW
 

Aron Gleason

Well-Known Member
Local time
1:14 AM
Joined
Aug 5, 2020
Messages
462
Reaction score
261
Location
Washington
I have a 16 gallon jaz fuel cell, and just got my factory gas gauge working. You need a 70-30 ohm sending unit. As far as the foam. Mine has foam, don't know of any advantages or disadvantages of having foam.
 

493 Mike

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:14 AM
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
4,284
Reaction score
4,766
Location
White Cloud, MI
As Aron has stated you need a Mopar rated sending unit (most come with GM units). The foam controls fuel "slosh" to keep the pickup covered in fuel. I think it also minimizes vapor volume in the cell.
Mike
 

66Satellite47

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
2:14 AM
Joined
Jan 15, 2015
Messages
6,543
Reaction score
5,571
Location
St Paul MN
My '66 Satellite has a 16 gal foam filled cell. Seems just fine. Sixteen gallons doesn't go real far with mine on the street, so I wouldn't consider any less for any street driving. My Arrow had a foam filled 8 gal. If you plan to go rounds in bracket racing, I wouldn't go smaller than that. My race cars used nearly a gallon per run. I want a foam filled version to control slosh.
 

Mike67

Well-Known Member
Local time
3:14 AM
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
7,483
Reaction score
11,954
Location
Woodlands Tx
Tanks inc & others make a float less tube style sending unit for cells. That'd what I have in mine but still being in the construction stage I have yet to fill it with more than 3 gal at a time so I cant say how well it works.
There is also an electronic sending unit corrector, I posted about it a while back, they are supposed to help you dial any sending unit in exactly.
Mine has foam which is fine for an external pump, but if you are going to convert to an in tank I beleive you will have to cut it out around the pick up.

https://www.tanksinc.com/index.cfm/page/ptype=product/product_id=346/mode=prod/prd346.htm
 

dvw

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:14 AM
Joined
Feb 16, 2010
Messages
6,497
Reaction score
9,880
Location
waterford mi
If you run a larger cell without foam the fuel will slosh if not completely full. Fuel is 6.5 lbs per gallon. That’s moveable weight and .0065 in ET per gallon. We top the tank (5 gallon) every run to stay on index. Do you want to run 15 gallons of fuel all the time? If not it’s a smaller cell or foam.
Doug
 

Aron Gleason

Well-Known Member
Local time
1:14 AM
Joined
Aug 5, 2020
Messages
462
Reaction score
261
Location
Washington
I have a 16 gallon jaz fuel cell, and just got my factory gas gauge working. You need a 70-30 ohm sending unit. As far as the foam. Mine has foam, don't know of any advantages or disadvantages of having foam.
I’m looking at Fuel cells, and have a few questions:
1. Is it possible to run the factory fuel gauge in my 67Satellite From a fuel cell sending unit.

2. I see differing opinions of foam filled vs. no foam. What’s the straight scoop?

3. For a bracket car that sees a little street time, is there a disadvantage to bigger (16 gal) cells?

thanks in advance-
LW
Hello LemonWedge. Just curious if you run a return line? And would it be worth it for me? I'm running a holley black pump that puts out 14lbs.
 

malex

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
3:14 AM
Joined
Aug 10, 2013
Messages
2,090
Reaction score
2,817
Location
Canada
Yeah LW I'm sure it's a 0-90 ohm GM type sender that fuel cells come with. You'll need to change it to run with your dash gauge. I put a 16 gallon cell in my Dart, the 64 has an 8 gallon, foam in both. Switching to a cell is a good choice IMO.
* the paint stick wedged under my bracket is my fuel gauge. I have a hole drilled into it at the 5 gallon spot.
IMG_3314.jpg
 
Last edited:

66Satellite47

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
2:14 AM
Joined
Jan 15, 2015
Messages
6,543
Reaction score
5,571
Location
St Paul MN
I use a wood lath that shows the level very clearly. It slides down nicely into the foam & is accurate. I also have the correct sender, but I don't have a lot of confidence in the accuracy of the gauge reading.
 

33 IMP

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
1:14 AM
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
7,920
Reaction score
11,200
Location
taxifornia,soon 2b Arizona.
I have had a jaz plastic fuel cell in my plymouth for at least 20 years, with no sign of problems from the foam. If i had it to do over again, i would buy a bigger one. My plymouth has an eight gallon cell, with room for lots more (gasoline weight at the rear for traction/ballast if neccessary, can run mostly empty if not), my little car has only a five gallon cell, thats all that would fit between the tubs.
 

malex

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
3:14 AM
Joined
Aug 10, 2013
Messages
2,090
Reaction score
2,817
Location
Canada
I would imagine a fellow can select bung size when purchasing a fuel cell. Both of my cells came with #8. 1/2”. I had to increase the hole size when I changed up to #10.
 

33 IMP

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
1:14 AM
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
7,920
Reaction score
11,200
Location
taxifornia,soon 2b Arizona.
I would imagine a fellow can select bung size when purchasing a fuel cell. Both of my cells came with #8. 1/2”. I had to increase the hole size when I changed up to #10.
Mine too. I just used a Y on the one cell, so i could use both -8s, got smart on the small car, blocked off one side, opened the other to -10.
 

66Satellite47

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
2:14 AM
Joined
Jan 15, 2015
Messages
6,543
Reaction score
5,571
Location
St Paul MN
I used both -8's Y to a -10 into the 10" inline filter, -10 into the pump and out with -8/ 1/2" to the regulator, -8 to both bowls, -8/1/2" return.
 

dvw

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:14 AM
Joined
Feb 16, 2010
Messages
6,497
Reaction score
9,880
Location
waterford mi
Mine came with 2 -8. Used one as a drain. Swapped the other to a -12. No need for the 2 into 1 complexity.
Doug
 

malex

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
3:14 AM
Joined
Aug 10, 2013
Messages
2,090
Reaction score
2,817
Location
Canada
Mine came with 2 -8. Used one as a drain. Swapped the other to a -12. No need for the 2 into 1 complexity.
Doug
—-
On my aluminum cell there are 2 bungs with 1/2” NPT. To enlarge one of those I would imagine a fellow would have to drill out and run a larger tap through? Or perhaps just drill out and install a bulkhead fitting. Not sure what guys do.
 

dvw

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:14 AM
Joined
Feb 16, 2010
Messages
6,497
Reaction score
9,880
Location
waterford mi
—-
On my aluminum cell there are 2 bungs with 1/2” NPT. To enlarge one of those I would imagine a e -fellow would have to drill out and run a larger tap through? Or perhaps just drill out and install a bulkhead fitting. what guys do.
Mines aluminum as well. We cut the -8 fitting out and welded in a -12.
Doug
 

LemonWedge

Well-Known Member
Local time
1:14 AM
Joined
Dec 27, 2009
Messages
750
Reaction score
1,570
Location
Puyallup, WA
I ordered a Jegs plastic 12-gal unit Along with their mounting strap kit. It does have a sending unit (that I’ll likely have to change out) but does not have foam. I’ll see how this goes, and figure if ai end up deciding that I need to control fuel slosh & aeration, I’ll add foam or something to baffle it. One suggestion I heard was to use waffle-balls.

The off-season parts chase is coming together. But as we all know, that’s the easy part. This winter will be a busy one.
 

Aron Gleason

Well-Known Member
Local time
1:14 AM
Joined
Aug 5, 2020
Messages
462
Reaction score
261
Location
Washington
My fuel cell had a 240-33 ohm sending unit. It only took me about 17 years to get the urge to have the factory gas gauge working again.
 

Mike Gaines

Well-Known Member
Local time
1:14 AM
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
2,093
Reaction score
4,246
Location
Ahwahnee, (Fresno) California
I bought a 5 gallon Aluminum Fuel Cell of Amazon. Only about $40 and it is a very nice piece.
No foam. I fill it full on every run to have the same weight to be consistant. And with it being full I have no concern about gas sloshing around. It came with mounting lugs welded to the bottom so I didn't need straps.
 
Last edited:

Top