• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Modern Wheels and Tires

64Orange

Local time
4:57 AM
Reaction score
I was reading an article on Hemmings this afternoon discussing modern modifications to make to your car to make it better for long drives. I want my '64 Fury capable of multiple trips from Bishop, CA (central CA, just a little south of Yosemite) to Orange County, CA (approx. 300 miles). The article had some good points but two points stumped me.

1) Consider using 17 inch or 19 inch wheels as it is becoming more difficult to find tires that fit 14" or 15" wheels. Any truth to that statement?
2) Use 9:1 compression ratio on your motor since 10:1 and above compression ratio motors prefer 93. The 9:1 compression can be more favorable for lower octanes. (I'm still new to engine building so if this question is silly, whoops).

Link to article: https://www.hemmings.com/stories/2021/09/16/basics-for-building-your-next-long-distance-driver

14 and 15 inch tires are still available. Just not in a very wide selection as opposed to the 17" and up sizes.
Also consider that when going to the "modern sizes" that they require a more expensive rim, they will ride harder because of the short sidewalls, tire/wheel clearance can be a problem.
Modern cars from the suspension up are designed for the modern tire/wheel sizing. Our cars were not.
BFG, Cooper, Mickey Thompson, Goodyear (repro) Firestone (repro) are available to fit our cars and are more period correct.